Podcast | The (un)deserving migrant?

Interrogating non-conventional bordering practices in the European space

In the context of growing anti-immigration sentiment across the EU, deeper understandings of the emerging bordering practices beyond the traditional areas of migration control are needed. Yet, these questions remain underresearched. Social agents in the fields of health, social policy, education or labour market integration have become implicated in regulating immigrants’ stay once they have arrived in their host country. Based on their ideas about the legitimacy of migrants settling outside of their home country, they can (dis)enable certain migrant groups to meaningfully participate in their host society.

This workshop explores the continuum of internal bordering within the European context. Presenters will discuss processes of inclusion and exclusion migrants are subjected to within cities, regions and national polities of the EU. We bring together a focus on bordering practices and a critical examination of the figure of the (un)deserving migrant. Thematic sessions aim to gain comparative insights into internal bordering practices across a range of social policy fields, going beyond the classical approaches to migration governance as regulating entry and residency. Contributions focus on the latent and manifest bordering practices in education, health, social security, and labour market policy. The research project allows for thinking the broader hierarchies that define belonging within European societies.

The organisation of this conference is supported by the Collège d’études mondiales, Fondation Maison des sciences de l’homme in the framework of the research project “The (un)deserving migrant? Interrogating nonconventional bordering practices in the European space”. The programme was established as a result of a call for papers that triggered significant interest across countries and disciplines, testifying to the timeliness of the research issues raised.

Ceci est un podacst en anglais, réalisé par FMSH-Audiovisuel à l'occasion du workshop organisé par Nora Ratzmann, London School of Economics et Nina Sahraoui, European University Institute, Collège d'études mondiales, FMSH.

With the participation Tobias Eule (University of Bern), Lieneke Slingenberg (Vrije Universiteit Amsterdam), Paolo Novak (SOAS, University of London), Nora Ratzmann, (London School of Economics), Caroline Schultz (University of Bamberg), Ellen Parsland (Lund university), Jérémy Geeraert (Centre Marc Bloch, Berlin, and the Institute for interdisciplinary research, University Paris 13), Nina Sahraoui (European University Institute, Collège d'études mondiales, FMSH), Harriet Gray (University of Liverpool), Stefanie Schröder & Jana Berg (German Center for Higher Education Research and Science Studies)

Share
Mis à jour le
02 June 2021
Interview

Related events

Podcast | The (un)deserving migrant?

Questionner les pratiques frontalières non conventionnelles dans l'espace européen

Dans le contexte de la montée du sentiment anti-immigration à travers l’UE, une meilleure compréhension des pratiques "faisant frontière" à travers la société, au-delà de l'attention portée aux  espaces classiques du contrôle migratoire, est nécessaire. Pourtant, ces sujets restent insuffisamment traités. Les acteurs sociaux dans les domaines de la santé, de la politique sociale, de l'éducation ou encore de l'intégration au marché du travail se voient impliqués dans le contrôle des immigrés à leur arrivée dans leur pays d’accueil. A partir de leurs représentations quant à la légitimité des migrants s'installant en dehors de leur pays d'origine, ils peuvent permettre, ou non, à certains groupes de migrants de participer de manière plus ou moins significative dans leur société d'accueil.

Cette conférence explore le continuum de frontières internes dans le contexte européen. Les conférenciers discuteront des processus d’inclusion et d'exclusion auxquels les migrants sont soumis à l'intérieur des villes, des régions et des pays de l’UE. Il s'agit de rapprocher des analyses en termes de processus de frontiérisation et un examen critique de la figure du migrant (non)méritant. Les sessions thématiques ont pour but de donner un aperçu comparatif des pratiques de "guichet" dans différents secteurs de politiques sociales, au-delà des approches classiques de la gouvernance de la migration en tant que contrôle de l'entrée et de la résidence. Les contributions se concentreront sur les pratiques "faisant frontière", de manière latente et manifeste, dans les domaines de l’éducation, la santé, la sécurité sociale et la politique du marché du travail. Ce projet de recherche permet ainsi de penser l'économie morale qui définit l'appartenance aux sociétés européennes.

L’organisation de cette conférence est soutenue par le Collège d’études mondiale, Fondation Maison des sciences de l’homme dans le cadre du projet de recherche “The (un)deserving migrant? Interrogating non conventional bordering practices in the European space”. Le programme a été créé à la suite d’un appel à contributions qui a déclenché un grand intérêt à travers les disciplines, ce qui témoigne de l'actualité des questions de recherche soulevées.

Ceci est un podacst en anglais, réalisé par FMSH-Audiovisuel à l'occasion du workshop organisé par Nora Ratzmann, London School of Economics et Nina Sahraoui, European University Institute, Collège d'études mondiales, FMSH.

Avec Tobias Eule (University of Bern), Lieneke Slingenberg (Vrije Universiteit Amsterdam), Paolo Novak (SOAS, University of London), Nora Ratzmann, (London School of Economics), Caroline Schultz (University of Bamberg), Ellen Parsland (Lund university), Jérémy Geeraert (Centre Marc Bloch, Berlin, and the Institute for interdisciplinary research, University Paris 13), Nina Sahraoui (European University Institute, Collège d'études mondiales, FMSH), Harriet Gray (University of Liverpool), Stefanie Schröder & Jana Berg (German Center for Higher Education Research and Science Studies)

Partager
Interview

Voir aussi