Interview with Alex Tepperman | Herman Diederiks Laureate 2019

Continuity and change: Reconsidering the History of American Penal Radicalism

In 2019, Alex Tepperman was awarded the Herman Diederiks Prize for his article "Continuity and Change: Reconsidering the History of American Penal Radicalism". In this interview, he tells us more about his research process and explains how the prize has impacted his academic carreer.

 

  • Could you tell us about your studies and your home institution?

In 2018, I graduated with a PhD in American History from the University of Florida, where I had the good fortune to train under a number of excellent historians of crime, law, and social deviance. My advisors were almost all cross-appointed to other departments and their research regularly bridged traditional disciplinary divides. This provided a dynamic context for my own cross-disciplinary research into the role of memory and narrative in crime and punishment’s long-term development. My doctoral training also prepared me for my current role as a faculty member at the University of South Carolina Upstate Department of Sociology, Criminal Justice, and Women’s Studies. In my current position, I have had many exciting opportunities to run special topics seminars that combine contemporary criminal justice topics with broad historiographical questions and concerns.

 

  • What was the subject of your thesis/awarded research?

“Continuity and Change” draws upon my dissertation research, which explored prison rebellions in the United States between the end of World War One and the country’s entry into World War Two in 1941. Throughout the 1920s and 1930s, American politicians, journalists, and academics frequently spoke of “waves” of prisoner uprisings engulfing the nation, yet historians of American penal radicalism rarely explore that tumultuous period in depth. This peculiarity served as the seedling for my research, as I wanted to clarify whether highly organized, politically motivated, national-level prison rebellions in the United States were, as most of the historical research on the subject suggests, a post-World War Two phenomenon. In hopes of “rediscovering” earlier uprisings, I conducted a content analysis of tens of thousands of digitized American newspapers, drawn from around the country and covering the years 1919 to 1941. Even with an aggressively conservative approach to what constitutes an organized rebellion, I found that inmate radicalism was, throughout the 1920s and 1930s, comparable in scale and severity to even the most explosive periods of American correctional history. I also found that rebellions were frequently political or ideological in nature, rather than simply ad hoc expressions of exasperation. Both of these findings directly challenge the notion that World War Two was an epochal moment for the politicization of imprisoned Americans and that post-war political developments created the necessary conditions for wide-scale organized rebellions in prisons.

 

  • In what context have you decided to apply for the Herman Diederiks Prize?

Last year, I founded the North American Historical Criminology Network with the interest of bringing together a diverse array of scholars hoping to reach across national, linguistic, and disciplinary lines and explore the ways in which histories of crime, law, and deviance have relevance to the present day. This same inclination led me to apply for the Herman Diederiks Prize, which I very much view as encouraging that same mission. I am eager to share my work in Crime, History, and Society, one of the most welcoming venues for scholars looking to explore the shared spaces that connect history, sociology, and criminology. In addition to having my work featured in a publication that I hold in deep regard, I am also pleased that this award exists under the auspices of the FMSH, an institution that has, for decades, served as a model for developing vibrant academic communities animated and approaches to research. 

 

  • How has the Herman Diederiks Prize impacted your research?

The Herman Diederiks Prize is a great endorsement of my research agenda and of the broader trajectory of my scholarship. Because the award committee is composed of scholars whose work has been deeply influential in my own development as an academic, I feel more confident that I am pursuing research that is worthwhile and relevant. It is my hope that, moving forward, the prize will help me further connect to scholars who share similar interests and aspirations.

 

  • What is the next step in your academic career?

At present, I am developing a book proposal based on my doctoral research that builds upon many of the findings I have presented in “Continuity and Change.” The monograph will go beyond discussing the scope of penal radicalism throughout the 1920s and 1930s, though, illustrating the political, economic, and cultural conditions that framed rationales for, and modes of, prison uprisings throughout the early twentieth century. I am also currently completing a chapter for an edited volume on crime history about the underexplored value of microhistorical approaches in the study of crime, law, and deviance.

 

Dr. Alex Tepperman

Assistant Professor of Criminal Justice
University of South Carolina

 

 

 

 

Share
Award

Related events

Entretien avec Alex Tepperman | Lauréat du prix Herman Diederiks 2019

Continuity and Change: Reconsidering the History of American Penal Radicalism

En 2019, Alex Tepperman s'est vu remettre le prix Herman Diederiks pour un article intitulé "Continuity and Change: Reconsidering the History of American Penal Radicalism". Dans cet entretien, il revient sur son sujet de recherche, les soulèvements de détenus dans les prisons américaines avant 1945, et explique l'effet que le prix Herman Diederiks a eu sur sa carrière universitaire.

 

  • Pouvez-vous nous présenter votre parcours et votre institution de rattachement ? 

En 2018, j’ai obtenu mon doctorat en histoire américaine de l’université de Floride, où j’ai eu la chance d’étudier sous la direction d’excellents historiens de la criminalité, du droit et de la déviance sociale. Mes directeurs de recherche ont presque tous été nommés dans d’autres départements et leurs recherches ont souvent fait le lien entre des disciplines traditionnellement distinctes. Cela a offert un contexte dynamique à ma propre recherche interdisciplinaire qui traitait de l’importance de la mémoire et du récit dans l'évolution à long terme des crimes et des sanctions. Mon doctorat m’a également préparé pour mon poste actuel de membre de la faculté de sociologie, justice criminelle et women’s studies de l’université Caroline du Sud. Ce poste m’offre des occasions intéressantes de mettre en place des séminaires consacrés à des sujets particuliers, combinant des thèmes tels que la justice criminelle contemporaine avec des questions et préoccupations historiographiques plus vastes.

 

  • Pouvez vous nous présenter brièvement votre thèse/projet de recherche récompensé ?

L’article « Continuity and change » s’inspire de ma recherche de thèse, qui explorait les rébellions au sein des prisons américaines entre la fin de la Première Guerre mondiale et l’entrées des États Unis dans la Seconde Guerre mondiale en 1941. Dans les décennies 1920 et 1930 les hommes politiques, journalistes, et universitaires ont souvent fait référence à des « vagues » de révoltes carcérales à travers le pays. Or, les historiens du radicalisme pénitentiaire américain n’ont que rarement exploré cette période tumultueuse en profondeur. Cette particularité a servi de germe à ma recherche. Je tenais à déterminer si les mouvements nationaux de rébellion organisée et politisée au sein des prisons américaines était un phénomène d’après Seconde Guerre mondiale, tel que le suggère la recherche. Dans l’espoir de « redécouvrir » des mouvements antérieurs, j’ai étudié le contenu de dizaines de milliers d’articles de journaux américains publiés durant la période 1919-1941. Même en étant très prudent avec la définition de rébellion organisée, j’ai découvert que le radicalisme au sein des prisons entre 1920 et 1940 était comparable, à la fois en termes d’échelle et de sévérité, à celui qui a eu cours pendant les années les plus explosives de l’histoire carcérale américaine. J’ai également découvert que ces rébellions étaient souvent de natures politique ou idéologique, plutôt que l’expression ad hoc d’une forme d’exaspération. Ces deux découvertes se placent en opposition directe avec l’idée selon laquelle la Seconde Guerre mondiale serait un moment charnière pour la politisation des Américains emprisonnés et que les développements politiques d’après 1945 auraient créé les conditions nécessaires aux soulèvements carcéraux de grande échelle.

 

  • Dans quel contexte avez-vous décidé de poser votre candidature pour ce prix ?

L’an dernier, j’ai fondé le North American Historical Criminology Network (réseau nord américain de criminologie historique) afin de réunir un vaste ensemble de chercheurs d’horizons nationaux, linguistiques et disciplinaires différents et ainsi d’explorer dans quelle mesure l’histoire du crime, l’histoire de la justice et l’histoire de la défiance ont un intérêt particulier aujourd’hui. C’est cette inclination qui m’a poussé à présenter ma candidature pour le prix Herman Diederiks, qui selon moi, encourage cette démarche. Je me réjouis de partager mon travail dans la revue Crime, Histoire et Sociétés, l’une des publications les plus accueillantes pour les universitaires à la recherche d’un espace à la croisée de l’histoire, la sociologie et la criminologie.  Au delà de l'honneur de participer à une si prestigieuse publication, je me rejouis aussi de l’existence de ce prix sous les auspices de la FMSH, une institution qui, depuis des décennies, est un modèle pour le développement de communautés académiques et d’approches de recherche vivantes.

 

  • L'obtention de ce prix est-elle déterminante pour la poursuite de votre projet de recherche ?

Recevoir le prix Herman Diederiks représente une forme d'encouragement pour l’orientation de ma recherche . Dans la mesure où les jurés de ce prix sont des chercheurs dont le travail a été crucial dans mon propre développement en tant que chercheur, je me sens plus en confiance sur la valeur et la pertinence de mon travail. J’espère que ce prix me permettra de rencontrer d’autres chercheurs partageant les mêmes intérêts et aspirations.

 

  • Quelle est la prochaine étape dans votre carrière académique ?

Je travaille actuellement sur un projet de livre inspiré de ma thèse et qui se construit sur plusieurs des découvertes exposées dans « Continuity and Change ». Cela étant, cette monographie ira plus loin qu’une discussion sur l’ampleur du radicalisme pénitentiaire des années 1920 et 1930. Elle illustrera les conditions politiques, économiques et culturelles qui informent les soulèvements carcéraux du début du XXème siècle et leurs modes de développement. Je termine également une contribution à un ouvrage collectif d’histoire criminelle consacrée à l’intérêt de l’approche micro-historique, trop peu explorée, dans l’étude du crime, de la justice et de la déviance.

| Entretien traduit de l'anglais

 

Dr. Alex Tepperman

Assistant Professeur de Justice Pénale
Université de Caroline du Sud

 

 

Partager

Mots clés

Récompense

Voir aussi