Mediterranean Identity | Articles by the participants

Summer school 2019

Last October, UNIMED – Mediterranean Universities Union, in collaboration with Fondation Maison des Sciences de l’Homme, has organised a one-week summer school on “Mediterranean Identity: talks around a common destiny.

The purpose of the Summer School was to create a network where experts from different sectors, such as sociology, science, art, journalism or culture, could discuss the sustainable development of the Mediterranean Region, through the lens of our common background and in particular our common traditions related to food (production, consumption, experiences…), in order to offer a positive paradigm to the Euro-Mediterranean relations.

The 15 students who took part in the summer school have each written articles on Mediterranean Identity. They are available on their personal profile on Unimed's website :

Marwan Zaher

Marwan Zaher is a Università Degli Studi di Padova graduate. His wrote his thesis on "The role of small enterprises in the national economies in Europe" in which he compares the roles of small enterprises in France, Italy and Serbia.

Caroline Walz

Caroline Walz studies sociology at the University of Barcelona. She is interested in the issue of sustainability in the current society and the way humans structure their lives. est étudiante en sociologie à l'Université de Barcelone. After a few years dedicated to exploring the world, she moved to Innsbruck, Austria, to study non lucrative, social and care management at the Management Center.  

Zinonas Sokratous

Zinonas Sokratous is an archeology graduate from the University of Cyprus, he specializes in marine archeology.  He is in the process of writing a thesis entitled "Excavating the History of the Cypriot Archaeology".

Vittoria Riccardi

Vittoria Riccardi is enrolled in the double Master Degree “crossing the Mediterranean towards investment and integration” (MIM), jointly offered by Università Ca Foscari of Venice and Université Paul Valery of Montpellier. She is interested in the implementation of sustainable development projects in the social and cultural area in the Mediterranean basin with a focus on grassroots movements.

Nisreen Rezek

Nisreen Rezek is a TV Program Director at Palestine TV. As she is passionate about learning and knowing about other cultures and people, she decided to join a master program in intercultural communication.

Roberta Persichino

Roberta Persichino is a student in Media, Digital Communication and Journalism at the University of Rome “La Sapienza”, Italy. She holds a degree in Letters and Philosophy. She is passionate about photography and manages to include this interest in her professional experience such as organization of events and their promotion through social media.

María Marhuenda Muñoz

María Marhuenda Muñoz is a PhD student, analyzing the effects of dietary polyphenols and carotenoids (antioxidants from the Mediterranean diet) in human metabolism. She also holds a master in Nutrition and Metabolism because many studies are starting to point out its ability to modulate our metabolism for the better but also for the worse.

Amine Mqarta

Amine Mqarta graduated from the University Mohamed V in Rabat, Morocco, where he specialized in biology, biodiversity and the environment. He dedicated himself to field work, studying medicinal plants in a forest near Rabat.

Dima El Kaissi

Dima El Kaissi specialized in Environmental Engineering and expanded her studies and expertise in order to save the environment and combat the damage irresponsible agriculture practices is causing. She is currently a Masters 2 student at the Lebanese University, specializing in Environmental and Natural Resources Engineering. 

Ricard Grebol

Ricard Grebol graduated in Physics and Chemistry from the Autonomous University of Barcelona (UAB). He took a research position in the ALBA CELLS Synchrotron as an external collaborator from a leading company in the Surface Science sector, IBSS group, for two years. His joint-degree thesis was entitled “ALD of TiO2 on (rPe-CVD) grown graphene for supercapacitors”.  He is currently in his second year of MSc in Economics at the University of Barcelona 

Aude Fanget

Aude Fanget is currently in an Erasmus Mundus Joint Master degree at Catania University, Italy. She studies heritage with a focus on the Euro-Mediterranean region.

Imène Diaf

Imène Diaf graduated in Master 2 in Territory Planning and Geography in 2013 at the Mentouri Constantine University 1, Algeria. She then started a doctoral research under the direction of Bouzid Touati, Lecturer and Pierre Pech, Professor at the University Paris 1 Panthéon Sorbonne. Her research work focuses on the compatibility between tourism development and the safeguarding of protected areas.

Fatma Dammak

Fatma Dammak holds a diploma in Landscape Engineering from the Higher Agronomic Institute of Chott-meriem, Tunisia. Her final project, entitled “Sustainable Development and Landscape: Study of the development of an eco-village”, dealt with the topic of local and sustainable development in rural areas. Currently, she is in Master’s research in the management of natural ecosystems and the valorization of their resources.

Nesrine Chemli

Nesrine Chemli is a PhD student enrolled in first year in Architecture and Environment, Department of Architecture Design and Urban Planning (DADU) at the University of Sassari, Alghero. She is also a researcher and focuses on the cultures and territories of the Mediterranean, the risk of social and physical desertification, deterritorialization, the process of sustainable urbanization in Sardinia and Tunisia.

Hanan Audeh

Hanan Audeh is an MA student in Intercultural Communication and Literature at The Arab American University in Ramallah, Palestine. She is an English language teacher and the head of the English Language Department at The Arab Evangelical Episcopal School in Ramallah. 

Share
Publication

Identité Méditerranéenne | Articles des participants

Université d'été 2019

UNIMED – Union des Universités de la Méditerranée, en collaboration avec la Fondation Maison des sciences de l’homme et Nnumari, a organisé en octobre dernier une université d’été d’une semaine portant sur l’“Identité Méditerranéenne : des échanges sur un destin commun.

Le but de cette université d’été était de créer un réseau où des experts de différents secteurs comme la sociologie, les sciences, l’art, le journalisme ou la culture, peuvaient discuter du développement durable de la Région Méditerranée en considérant notre passé commun et, en particulier, nos traditions communes liées à l’alimentation (production, consommation, expériences…), afin d’offrir un paradigme positif aux relations euro-méditerranéennes.

Les 15 étudiants et jeunes chercheurs qui ont participé à l'université d'été ont chacun rédigé plusieurs articles. Retrouvez ces articles sur leur page dédiée :

Marwan Zaher

Marwan Zaher est diplômé de l'Università Degli Studi di Padova, Italie. Il a rédigé sa thèse sur « Le rôle des PME dans les économies nationales en Europe » dans laquelle il compare leur rôle en France, en Italie et en Serbie. 

Caroline Walz

Caroline Walz est étudiante en sociologie à l'Université de Barcelone. Elle s’intéresse au développement durable et aux enjeux de durabilité dans la société d’aujourd’hui et à la façon dont les humains structurent leur vie. Après quelques es années suivantes à parcourir le monde, elle a déménagé à Innsbruck, en Autriche, pour étudier la gestion à but non lucratif, sociale et des soins de santé au Management Center d'Innsbruck.

Zinonas Sokratous

Zinonas Sokratous est diplomé de l'Université de Chypre en archéologie méditerranéenne avec spécialisation en archéologie maritime. Il est actuellement doctorant à l'Université de Chypre et sa thèse s'intitule "Excavating the History of the Cypriot Archaeology".

Vittoria Riccardi

Vittoria Riccardi est inscrite au double Master «Traversée de la Méditerranée vers l'investissement et l'intégration» (MIM), proposé conjointement par l'Università Ca Foscari de Venise et l'Université Paul Valery de Montpellier. Elle s'intéresse à la mise en œuvre de projets de développement durable dans le domaine social et culturel du bassin méditerranéen en mettant l'accent sur les mouvements populaires.

Nisreen Rezek

Nisreen Rezek est directrice de programme TV à Palestine TV. Passionnée par l'apprentissage et la connaissance d'autres cultures et personnes, elle a décidé de rejoindre un programme de master en communication interculturelle.

Roberta Persichino

Roberta Persichino est étudiante en médias, communication numérique et journalisme à l'Université de Rome La Sapienza, Italie. Elle est titulaire d'un diplôme en lettres et philosophie. Passionnée de photographie, elle parvient à intégrer cet intérêt dans son expérience professionnelle comme l'organisation d'événements et leur promotion sur les réseaux sociaux.

María Marhuenda Muñoz

María Marhuenda Muñoz, doctorante, analyse les effets des polyphénols alimentaires et des caroténoïdes (antioxydants du régime méditerranéen) sur le métabolisme humain. Elle détient également un master en nutrition et métabolisme car de nombreuses études commencent à souligner sa capacité à moduler notre métabolisme pour le mieux mais aussi pour le pire.

Amine Mqarta

Amine Mqarta est diplômé de l'Université Mohamed V de Rabat, Maroc, où il s'est spécialisé en biologie, biodiversité et environnement. Il se consacre aux travaux de terrain, étudiant les plantes médicinales dans une forêt près de Rabat.

Dima El Kaissi

Dima El Kaissi s'est spécialisée en ingénérie de l'environnement et a élargi ses études et son expertise afin de préserver l'environnement et de lutter contre les dommages causés par les pratiques agricoles irresponsables. Elle est actuellement étudiante en Master 2 à l'Université libanaise, spécialisée en ingénierie de l'environnement et des ressources naturelles.

Ricard Grebol

Ricard Grebol est diplômé en physique et chimie de l'Université autonome de Barcelone (UAB). Il a occupé un poste de recherche au sein du Synchrotron ALBA CELLS en tant que collaborateur externe d'une entreprise leader dans le secteur des sciences de la surface, groupe IBSS, pendant deux ans. Son projet de diplôme était intitulée «ALD de TiO2 sur du graphène cultivé (rPe-CVD) pour les supercondensateurs». Il est actuellement dans sa deuxième année de MSc en économie à l'Université de Barcelone.

Aude Fanget

Aude Fanget est actuellement en Master conjoint Erasmus Mundus à l'Université de Catane, en Italie. Elle étudie le patrimoine avec un accent sur la région euro-méditerranéenne. 

Imène Diaf

Imène Diaf a obtenu un Master 2 en aménagement du territoire et géographie en 2013 à l'Université Mentouri Constantine 1, Algérie. Elle a ensuite entamé une recherche doctorale sous la direction de Bouzid Touati, Maître de conférences et Pierre Pech, Professeur à l'Université Paris 1 Panthéon Sorbonne. Ses travaux de recherche portent sur la compatibilité entre le développement touristique et la sauvegarde des aires protégées.

Fatma Dammak

Fatma Dammak est titulaire d'un diplôme d'ingénieur paysagiste de l'Institut supérieur agronomique de Chott-Meriem, Tunisie. Son projet final, intitulé « Développement durable et paysage : étude du développement d'un éco-village », portait sur le thème du développement local et durable en milieu rural. Actuellement, elle est en Master recherche dans la gestion des écosystèmes naturels et la valorisation de leurs ressources. 

Nesrine Chemli

Nesrine Chemli est doctorante inscrite en première année en architecture et environnement, Département de conception d'architecture et d'urbanisme (DADU) à l'Université de Sassari, Alghero. Elle est également chercheuse et s'intéresse aux cultures et territoires de la Méditerranée, au risque de désertification sociale et physique, à la déterritorialisation, au processus d'urbanisation durable en Sardaigne et en Tunisie. 

Hanan Audeh

Hanan Audeh est étudiante en master de communication et littérature interculturelles à l'Université arabo-américaine de Ramallah, en Palestine. Elle est professeur d'anglais et chef du département de langue anglaise à l'Arab Evangelical Episcopal School de Ramallah.

Partager

Mots clés

Parution

Voir aussi