Interview with Dan Johnson | Herman Diederiks Laureate 2018

Suffering on Display : An argument for historical nuance in British prison museums

In 2018, Dan Johnson was awarded the Herman Diederiks prize for an article he co-wrote with Rhiannon Pickin, Suffering on Display : An argument for historical nuance in British prison museums. Today, he tells us about his research and the impact this prize has had on his work.

 

  • Could you tell us about your studies and your home institution?

I completed my PhD in the department of history at the University of York (UK) in 2019. My research focussed on ethical interpretations of crime and punishment in prison museums in the UK, and was supervised by Dr Geoff Cubitt and Dr Mark Roodhouse, blending public history and crime history together to better understand public perceptions of our criminal past. 

Whilst studying, I was an active member of the Institute for the Public Understanding of the Past (IPUP) and led seminar groups for modules on modern history and public history. I have spoken at a number of international conferences in Manchester, Belfast, and São Paulo, as well as co-organised conferences about difficult heritage and digital history. I also served as the student representative for postgraduate teaching assistants for the department of history. 

 

  • What was the subject of your thesis/awarded research? 

The title of my thesis was ‘Spectacles of Punishment: Representations of Poverty and Punishment in British Prison Museums’. My research largely focussed on exposing ethical problems in representations of prisoner narratives in British prison museums. I argued that many representations on display more closely resemble those seen on television sit-coms than archival records and statistics. I then examined how these misrepresentations are problematic and ethically dangerous both to the memories of the historical individuals used for display, but also for visitors to museums who often take the misinformation as fact, altering their perceptions of the historical prison experience.

 

  • In what context have you decided to apply for the Herman Diederiks Prize?

When Rhiannon Pickin and I wrote ‘Suffering on Display’, we submitted the article to Crime, History & Societies without knowing about the prize. It was only after the paper was accepted for publication that we were notified that it had won the award. As one could imagin, we were both shocked and privileged to have won the prestigious award.

 

  • How has the Herman Diederiks Prize impacted your research? 

The Herman Diederiks Prize has given me the confidence to continue to research and write. I have been invited to participate in conferences and workshops that I would not have known about previously and I have been able to build on the prestige of the award in my career outside of academia as well, demonstrating my subject expertise.

 

  • What is the next step in your academic career?

Although I am currently working on turning my thesis into a series of articles and still actively participate in academic research and conferences, I have left academia and have begun a career in heritage design.

 

 

Dr Dan Johnson

Department of History
Institute for the Public Understanding of the Past
University of York

Twitter : @Dan_Johnson19

Share

Tags

Award

Related events

Entretien avec Dan Johnson | Lauréat Herman Diederiks 2018

Suffering on Display : An argument for historical nuance in British prison museums

En 2018, Dan Johnson a reçu le Prix Herman Diederiks pour un article qu'il a co-écrit avec Rhiannon Pickin, Suffering on Display : An argument for historical nuance in British prison museums. Aujourd'hui, il revient sur sa recherche et sur l'impact que le prix a eu sur son travail.

 

  • Pouvez-vous nous présenter votre institution de rattachement ?

J'ai effectué mon doctorat au sein du département d'histoire de l'université de York en 2019. Ma recherche portait sur les interpretations éthiques des crimes et des peines dans les musées pénitentiaires britanniques. Elle a été supervisée par Dr Geoff Cubitt et Dr Mark Roodhouse, associant histoire publique et histoire criminelle pour mieux cerner la perception publique du passé criminel.

Au cours de mes études, j'ai été membre actif de l'IPUP (Institute for the Public Understanding of the Past) et j'ai dirigé des groupes de séminaires pour des modules d'histoire moderne et publique. Je suis intervenu dans plusieurs conférences internationales à Manchester, Belfast et São Paulo, et j'ai co-organisé des conférences sur le patrimoine complexe et l'histoire numérique.

 

  • Pouvez-vous nous présenter votre thèse/sujet de recherche récompensé ? 

Le titre de ma thèse était ‘Spectacles of Punishment: Representations of Poverty and Punishment in British Prison Museums’. Ma recherche s'orientait largement sur les problèmes éthiques que posaient les représentations du vécu des prisonniers dans les musées pénitentiaires britanniques. J'ai défendu l'idée selon laquelle nombreuses de ces représentations ressemblaient davantage à des sitcoms de télévision plutôt qu'à un travail de recherche archivistique et statistique. J'ai ensuite examiné dans quelle mesure ces représentations faussées pouvaient être problématiques et dangereuses d'un point de vue éthique, à la fois pour la mémoire des individus emprisonnés mais aussi pour les visiteurs des musées qui voient leur perception de l'expérience carcérale altérée par ces mauvaises informations qu'il prennent souvent pour des faits.

 

  • Dans quel contexte avez-vous décidé de poser votre candidature pour le Prix Herman Diederiks ?

Lorsque Rhiannon Pickin et moi-même avons écrit notre article ‘Suffering on Display’, nous l'avons soumis à la revue Crime, Histoire & Société sans avoir connaissance de ce prix. C'est seulement après que l'article a été accepté pour publication que nous avons été informés qu'il avait remporté le prix Herman Diederiks. Il va sans dire que nous étions tous les deux stupéfaits et ravis du privilège de recevoir ce prestigieux prix.

 

  • Quel effet a eu le Prix Herman Diederiks sur votre recherche ?

Le Prix Herman Diederiks m'a donné l'assurance nécessaire pour poursuivre ma recherche et la mettre par écrit. J'ai depuis été invité à des ateliers et des conférences dont j'ignorais précédemment l'existence et j'ai pu tirer parti de ce prix dans ma carrière en dehors du monde universitaire également, appuyant mon expertise sur ce sujet.

 

  • Quelle est la prochaine étape de votre carrière académique ?

Bien que je travaille à la publication de ma thèse sous forme d'articles et que je participe encore activement à la recherche académique et à des conférences, j'ai quitté le monde universitaire pour me consacrer à une carrière dans la valorisation du patrimone historique.

 

[Entretien traduit de l'anglais]

 

 

Dr Dan Johnson

Department of History
Institute for the Public Understanding of the Past
University of York

Twitter : @Dan_Johnson19

Partager

Mots clés

Récompense

Voir aussi