from 02 to 31 March, 2020

The Exodus of mankind

Retrospective of the works of Cristian Pineda | From 2nd to 31st March

Since 2006, Cristian Pineda has been working on the theme of migration, a motive which led him to travel to the frontiers of Mexico, America and in Europe. These frontiers bear witness to a geographic, political, social, economic and cultural fracture which challenges the artist who has endeavoured to grasp the role of the human being in this globalised and fractured world.

Human Mobility is a series of 10 different artistic projects which include participant art in collaboration with the migrants and asylum seekers, installations, series of photographs, documentaries, an audiovisual presentation and paintings, sculptures and drawings.

Throughout the month of March, the FMSH will host a selection of Cristian Pineda’s projects. During the exhibition there will be a series of meeting and participant workshops on themes associated with migration organised by Pascale Naveau, sociologist, Université de Louvain, Alexis Nuselovici (Nouss), holder of the chair Exile and Migrations and Geoffrey Pleyers, in charge of the programme Social movemens in the Global Age.

 


Cristian Pineda

Cristian Pineda is a visual multidisciplinary artist. Born in 1980 in Juchitán de Zaragoza, Mexico, he now lives in Mérida in the Yucatan region and splits his time and work between Mexico and Belgium.

More +: Cristian Pineda

Discover the artistic projects: Human mobility

 

Read through the exhibition catalog

Introduced by Cristian Pineda, this catalog presents his artistic projects exhibited at the FMSH in March 2020. It also includes two films, Caminantes de papel and Circulos de Vida, which document the work of Cristian Pineda during the creation of those pieces. Academic texts by the professor of literature Alexis Nuselovici (NOUSS) and sociologists Pascale Naveau, Geoffrey Pleyers and Michel Wieviorka construe the creations of Cristian Pineda.

 

 


Conference with the artist

Wednesday, March 18th, 2020 | 6 PM
Forum // Grand hall
54 boulevard Raspail | 75006 Paris

Due to strikes, the opening on March 5th was postponed.

Informations

From Monday 2nd to Tuesday 31 March 2020
Free entry Monday to Friday from 8 AM to 8 PM

FMSH Lobby | 54, boulevard Raspail, Paris 6

 


The Projects displayed

Papers Walkers // Marcheurs de papier
Paperwalkers (2012-2013) is a series of 30 human figures in movement. Made in inns for migrants in Mexico, these figures come from a participant art project between the artist and the migrants from Central America. By means of these silhouettes in movement, the participants have illustrated and described not only their personal stories but also their version of History, along the lines of an eye-witness account which constructs a social, collective and artistic memory.

 

 

Boxes of Life // Boîtes de vie
Boxes of life is a participant art project which originated in the real-life experience of the PaperWalkers project. This took place in Eupen in the Belle-Vue asylum seekers’ centre; the projects comprises boxes in which the asylum seekers, in a creative process, chose and transformed objects as a personal tribute.

 

 

 

 

Circles of Life // Cercles de vie
This photographic work was carried out in the Arizona Desert one of the most coveted trans-frontier deserts in the world. The Circles of Life are composed of personal objects which have been abandoned by the migrants and the passers in the caves in the desert. On the basis of these objects, the artist has conceived a precise order in the form of a circle in reference to the spread of violence.

 

 

 

 

I am my house // Je suis ma maison
The project I am my house originated in the artist’s reaction to the feeling of being uprooted which the September 2017 earthquake (which destroyed more than half the houses and the buildings in his region) aroused in him. I am my house is a series of photographs on which Cristian Pineda has drawn imaginary houses to reinvent towns, houses, homes and lives after the catastrophe.

 

 

 

 

 

La Jungle de Calais
Imagined in 2018, 2 years after it had been decommissioned, the aim of The Jungle in Calais is to re-create the memory of a space which has been destroyed and of which the history of the migrants who lived there tends to be wiped out. Cristian Pineda questions this obliteration. Where have the migrants from The Jungle gone? Do no more migrants come to Calais? How do the migrants survive today and where are they?

 

 

 

 

 

The Programme of the Workshops

5 March

Opening of the Exhibition

6-9 March

Fieldwork with the migrants based at Porte de la Chapelle

11 March

Presentation of the exhibition catalog at Mexico Cultural Center in Paris

13 March

Subjectivation: a process central to involvement

18 March

Migration Crisis: philosophical interpretations to political discourse (Part Two) Study day


Press

Contact : Chloé Lepart | +33 (0)1 40 48 64 15 | clepart@msh-paris.fr

Share
Exhibition

Related events

du 02 au 31 mars 2020

L'Exode de l'Humanité

Exposition de Cristian Pineda | Du 2 au 31 mars

Depuis 2006, Cristian Pineda travaille autour du thème de la migration, motif qui l’a amené à voyager aux frontières mexicaines, américaines et européennes. Ces frontières, témoignages d’une fracture à la fois géographique, politique, sociale, économique et culturelle, interpellent l’artiste, qui cherche à appréhender le rôle de l’être humain dans ce monde à la fois globalisé et fracturé.

L’Exode de l’Humanité est une série de 10 projets artistiques différents parmi lesquels des projets d’art participatif en collaboration avec des migrants et demandeurs d’asile, des installations, des séries de photographies, des documentaires, une pièce audiovisuelle ainsi que des projets de peintures, sculptures et dessins.

La FMSH accueillera durant tout le mois de mars une sélection de projets de Cristian Pineda. L’exposition sera ponctuée d’une série de rencontres et d’ateliers participatifs sur les thèmes de la migration organisés par Pascale Naveau, docteure en sociologie à l’Université de Louvain, Alexis Nuselovici (Nouss), titulaire de la chaire Exil et migrations et Geoffrey Pleyers, responsable du programme Mouvements sociaux à l’âge global.

 


Cristian Pineda

Cristian Pineda est un artiste visuel multidisciplinaire. Né en 1980 au Mexique dans la ville de Juchitán de Zaragoza, il vit actuellement à Mérida dans le Yucatan et partage son temps de travail entre le Mexique et la Belgique.

En savoir + : Cristian Pineda

Découvrir les projets artistiques: Human mobility

 


Vernissage de l'exposition

Jeudi 5 mars 2020 à partir de 18h00
Forum // Grand hall
54 boulevard Raspail | 75006 Paris

 

Informations pratiques

Du lundi 2 au mardi 31 mars 2020
Entrée libre du lundi au vendredi de 8h à 20h

Grand Hall de la FMSH | 54, boulevard Raspail, Paris 6

 


Les projets exposés

Paper Walkers // Marcheurs de papier
Paper walkers (2012-2013) est une série de 30 figures humaines en mouvement. Réalisés dans des auberges pour migrants au Mexique, ces personnages relèvent d’un projet d’art participatif entre l’artiste et des migrants originaires d’Amérique centrale. Au travers de ces silhouettes en mouvement, les participants ont illustré et décrit non seulement leur histoire personnelle, mais aussi leur version de l’Histoire, tel un témoignage qui bâtit une mémoire sociale, collective et artistique.

 

 

Boxes of life // Boîtes de vie
Boxes of life est un projet d’art participatif né de l’expérience vécue lors du projet Paper Walkers. Mené à Eupen dans le centre pour demandeurs d’asile Belle-Vue, le projet est composé de boîtes dans lesquels les demandeurs d’asile, au travers d’un processus créatif, s’approprient et transforment des objets en témoignage personnel.

 

 

 

 

Circles of life // Cercles de vie
Ce oeuvre photographique a été menée dans le désert de l’Arizona, l’un des déserts transfrontaliers les plus convoités au monde. Les cercles de vie sont composés d’objets personnels abandonnés par les migrants et leurs passeurs dans les grottes du désert. À partir de ces objets, l’artiste a conçu un ordre précis en forme circulaire faisant référence à la propagation de la violence.

 

 

 

 

I am my house // Je suis ma maison
Le projet I am my house est né de la réaction de l’artiste face au sentiment de déracinement que provoqua chez lui le tremblement de terre de septembre 2017 qui détruisit plus de la moitié des maisons et immeubles de sa région natale. I am my house est une série de photographies sur lesquelles Cristian Pineda a dessiné des maisons imaginaires afin de réinventer les villes, les maisons, les foyers et la vie après la catastrophe.

 

 

 

 

 

La Jungle de Calais
Conçu en 2018, 2 ans après son démantèlement, La Jungle de Calais a pour objectif de recréer la mémoire d’un espace déconstruit et dont l’histoire des migrants tend à être effacée. Cristian Pineda questionne cet effacement. Où sont partis les migrants de la Jungle ? N’y-a-t-il plus de migrants qui arrivent à Calais ? Comment et où survivent les migrants aujourd’hui ?

 

 

 

 

 

 


Presse

Télécharger le communiqué de presse

Contact : Chloé Lepart | +33 (0)1 40 48 64 15 | clepart@msh-paris.fr

Partager
Exposition

Voir aussi