Angélica Montes Montoya

GRECOL-ALC co-director

Biography

Dr. Angélica Montes Montoya is French-Colombian, she holds a Ph.D. in Political Philosophy (Université Paris 8) and a Master’s degree in Latin-American Societies Studies (Institut des Hautes Etudes de l’Amérique Latine – Sorbonne Nouvelle, Paris 3). She is currently teaching within the Department of Languages and Cultures, ESSEC Business School. Angélica is an associate researcher at The Institute for Research and Education on Negotiation (IRENE-ESSEC) where she leads the Latin Americas program.

Angélica also teaches at the Université Paris 13 Sorbonne Cité and is a member of the research laboratory “Contemporary Logics of Philisophy – LLCP” (Université Paris 8) and of the Universitary Network for the Evaluation of the Quality of Superior Education (RUECA – Colombia).

Focus of research

Angélica works on the issues raised by the “sustained tensions” of political multiculturalism, interculturality, agonistic democracy, cosmopolitism and creolization, and the Colombian conflict. She is regularly invited to teach in Mexico and Colombia.

Recent publications

Angélica is the author of several book chapters and of papers published in academic journals in France, Colombia, Mexico, Rumania, and the Czech Republic.

  • 2016 “La diversidad cultural colectiva en tensión sostenida : una mirada desde la democracia agonista de Mouffe”, in Actas Sociologicas n° 71, septiembre-diciembre, Universidad Nacional de México – UNAM, México.
  • 2016 “The politicization of black identities and “agonistic democracy” : a comparative analysis of France and Colombia », in Perspectivas internacionales, Pontificia Universidad Javeriana, Vol. 11, N° 2, Cali, Colombie, p. 41- 86.
  • 2015 La Représentation du Noir dans la Colombie contemporaine : essai sur le cas de Carthagène des Indes, Collection Recherches Amériques Latines, L’Harmattan, Paris.

Angélica Montes Montoya

Co-directrice du GRECOL-ALC

Biographie

Angélica Montes Montoya est franco-colombienne, docteure en philosophie politique (Université Paris 8) et titulaire d’un master en Études des Sociétés Latino-Américaines de l’Institut des Hautes Études de l’Amérique Latine (Sorbonne Nouvelle, Paris 3). Elle est actuellement professeur à l’École Supérieure des Sciences Economiques et Commerciales (ESSEC) et chercheure associée à l'Institut de Recherche et d'Enseignement sur la Négociation (IRENE-ESSEC).

Par ailleurs, Angélica enseigne à l’Université Paris 13 et est membre du laboratoire « Les Logiques Contemporaines de la Philosophie – LLCP », Université Paris 8, et du Réseau Universitaire d’Evaluation de la Qualité de l’Enseignement Supérieur Universitaire (RUECA-Colombie).

Axe de recherche

Angélica Montes travaille sur les questions liées aux « tensions soutenues » du multiculturalisme politique, à l'interculturalité, la démocratie agonistique, au conflit colombien, au cosmopolitisme et à la créolisation. À l’étranger, elle est régulièrement invitée pour donner des cours au Mexique et en Colombie.

Publications récentes

Angélica Montes est l’auteur de plusieurs chapitres de livres et d’articles dans des revues scientifiques publiées en France, Colombie, Mexique, Roumanie, et République tchèque.

  • 2016 “La diversidad cultural colectiva en tensión sostenida : una mirada desde la democracia agonista de Mouffe”, in Actas Sociologicas n° 71, septiembre-diciembre, Universidad Nacional du Mexique – UNAM, México.
  • 2016 “The politicization of black identities and “agonistic democracy” : a comparative analysis of France and Colombia », in Perspectivas internacionales, Pontificia Universidad Javeriana, Vol. 11, N° 2, Cali, Colombie, p. 41- 86.
  • 2015 La Représentation du Noir dans la Colombie contemporaine : essai sur le cas de Carthagène des Indes, Collection Recherches Amériques Latines, L’Harmattan, Paris.