4th EMES-Polanyi International Seminar

Call for papers

From the great transformation to the eco-social transition. New solidarities in action

Seminar background

Following the 2018 seminar which explored how a Polanyian framework may contribute to identify a possible way forward for the welfare state in an international perspective, the 4th EMES-Polanyi seminar will address the emergence of transition as a new paradigm. When the welfare states matured in the wake of the Second World War, they seemed to provide a horizon of emancipation. However, in recent decades it has become clear that another notion of transition is needed. Built upon representative democracy and the assurance of social progress through the decommodification of activities such as healthcare, social democracy faced two limits by the end of the century : regulations designed at a national level by experts transformed citizens from partners in a social contract (social citizenship) to subscribers or clients and political redistribution linked social justice to economic growth.

Seminar thematic approach

The hypothesis for this seminar is that all the research on different issues such as associations, social and solidarity economy, social enterprise, social innovation, social movements, ecological alternatives, sustainable transition studies be integrated into the paradigm of transition.

Contributions may address these issues and their interesections. Based on the two epistemological options described above, they are encouraged to address the uncertainties of the current situation that cast a shadow over democracy and emerging practices aimed at strengthening it.

To foster the re-embeddeness of the formal economy in the XXIst century, there is a strong need to explore the relationship between the concepts of transformation and transition. Academic papers able to bridge and combine sustainability transitions studies with Polanyian studies are welcome.

Important dates

  • 15 December 2019 Deadline for abstract submission
  • 20 January 2020 Registration opens
  • 15 January 2020 Communication to authors

 

Co-organised par le Collège d’études mondiales - Fondation Maison des sciences de l’homme,  EMPOWER-SE COST Action, EMES International Research Network, Karl Polanyi Institute of Political Economy

Share
Call for paper

Related events

4e Séminaire international EMES-Polanyi

Appel à communication

From the great transformation to the eco-social transition. New solidarities in action

À la suite du séminaire de 2018, qui a exploré comment un cadre polanyien pourrait contribuer à identifier une voie possible pour l'État providence dans une perspective internationale, le 4ème séminaire EMES-Polanyi traitera de l'émergence de la transition en tant que nouveau paradigme. Lorsque les États-providence ont mûri au lendemain de la Seconde Guerre mondiale, ils semblaient offrir un horizon d'émancipation. Cependant, au cours des dernières décennies, il est apparu clairement qu'une autre notion de transition était nécessaire. Construite sur la démocratie représentative et l'assurance du progrès social par le décloisonnement d'activités telles que la santé, la social-démocratie s'est heurtée à deux limites d'ici la fin du siècle : des réglementations conçues au niveau national par des experts transformaient les citoyens en partenaires sociaux (contrat de citoyenneté sociale) aux abonnés ou aux clients et la redistribution politique a lié la justice sociale à la croissance économique.

Approche thématique du séminaire

L’hypothèse de ce séminaire est que toutes les recherches sur différentes questions telles que les associations, l’économie sociale et solidaire, l’entreprise sociale, l’innovation sociale, les mouvements sociaux, les alternatives écologiques, les études sur la transition durable soient intégrées au paradigme de la transition.

Les contributions peuvent traiter de ces problèmes et de leurs intersections. Sur la base des deux options épistémologiques décrites ci-dessus, ils sont encouragés à faire face aux incertitudes de la situation actuelle qui assombrissent la démocratie et aux pratiques émergentes visant à la renforcer.

Pour favoriser la réintégration de l'économie formelle au XXIe siècle, il est impératif d'explorer la relation entre les concepts de transformation et de transition. Les articles universitaires capables de relier et de combiner des études de transition de durabilité avec des études polanyiennes sont les bienvenus.

Calendrier

  • 15 decembre 2019 : Date limite de soumission des résumés
  • 15 janvier 2020 : Résultat du commité scientifique
  • 20 janvier 2020 : ouverture des inscriptions

 

Co-organisé par le Collège d’études mondiales - Fondation Maison des sciences de l’homme,  EMPOWER-SE COST Action, EMES International Research Network, Karl Polanyi Institute of Political Economy

Partager
Appel à contribution

Voir aussi