25 October 2019

Why social movements matter?

Conference | Friday, October 25th

Laurence Cox presents his recent book Why Social Movements Matter, written at the Collège d'études mondiales in the framework of the research program Mouvements sociaux à l’âge global. The 21st century sees social movements written large on the map of the world, while journalists, intellectuals, novelists, celebrities and politicians invoke specific movements as current events or for dramatic effect. Yet the significance of widespread popular mobilisation as such is barely a subject of public reflection other than in dismissive and misdirected comments on “populism”.

Why should the wider public care about social movements in general, and how can they grasp them? How can party-political militants understand their workings? What should scholars and students in other fields know, and how have movements shaped our intellectual world? Too often scholars of social movements – in the English-speaking world at least – allow the accidents of university processes and cultural trends to decide the future (if any) of the field. But can we justify our work to these wider audiences and position the study of movements as a central intellectual tool to understanding the world we live in? This talk presents some of the issues raised by trying to convince others that social movements matter.

 

Conference of the research programme Social Movements in the Global Age with Laurence Cox, Professor in Sociology at the National University of Ireland Maynooth.

Laurence Cox is Associate Professor in Sociology at the National University of Ireland Maynooth and is an associated researcher at the program “Social movements in the Global Age” at the Collège d’études mondiales. He has published over 150 academic pieces on social movements and co-edits the open-access journal Interface. He has just published Why Social Movements Matter (Rowman and Littlefield 2018) and Voices of 1968 (Pluto 2018); his co-authored The Irish Buddhist: the Forgotten Monk who Faced Down the British Empire is forthcoming in spring 2020 with Oxford University Press.

Details

Conference

Friday, October 25th
4:00pm - 6:00pm

Room A3-50
FMSH | 54, bd Raspail, Paris 6

Free entrance

Conference in English

Ajouter à mon agenda

 

Share
Conference

Related events

25 octobre 2019

Laurence Cox | Why social movements matter?

Conférence | Vendredi 25 octobre

Laurence Cox présente son récent ouvrage Why Social Movements Matter, écrit au Collège d'études mondiales dans le cadre du programme Mouvements sociaux à l'âge global. Le 21e siècle voit les mouvements sociaux inscrits en grand sur la carte du monde, alors que journalistes, intellectuels, romanciers, célébrités et hommes politiques invoquent des mouvements spécifiques comme événements d'actualité ou pour obtenir un effet dramatique. Pourtant, l’importance de la mobilisation populaire généralisée en tant que telle n’est guère qu'un sujet de réflexion publique que par des commentaires dédaigneux et mal dirigés sur le « populisme ».

Pourquoi le grand public devrait-il s'intéresser aux mouvements sociaux en général et comment peut-il les comprendre ? Comment les militants des partis politiques peuvent-ils comprendre leur fonctionnement ? Que devraient savoir les universitaires et les étudiants d'autres domaines et comment les mouvements ont-ils façonné notre monde intellectuel ? Trop souvent, les spécialistes des mouvements sociaux - du moins dans le monde anglo-saxon - permettent au hasard des processus universitaires et des tendances culturelles de décider de l'avenir (le cas échéant) du domaine. Mais pouvons-nous justifier notre travail auprès de ces publics plus larges et faire de l’étude des mouvements un outil intellectuel central pour comprendre le monde dans lequel nous vivons ? Cette présentation apporte des éléments de réponse à certaines des questions soulevées en essayant de convaincre de l’importance des mouvements sociaux.

 

Conférence du programme de recherche Mouvements sociaux à l'âge global avec Laurence Cox, professeur à l’Université nationale d’Irlande de Maynooth

Laurence Cox est professeur agrégé de sociologie à l’Université nationale d’Irlande de Maynooth et chercheur associé au programme Mouvements sociaux à l’âge global au Collège d’études mondiales. Il a publié plus de 150 articles académiques sur les mouvements sociaux et coédité le journal en libre accès Interface. Il vient de publier Why Social Movements Matter (Rowman et Littlefield, 2018) et Voices of 1968 (Pluto, 2018 ); il a co-écrit The Irish Buddhist: the Forgotten Monk who Faced Down the British Empire, à paraître au printemps 2020 chez Oxford University Press.

Détails

Conférence

Vendredi 25 octobre
16h - 18h

Salle A3-50
FMSH | 54, bd Raspail, Paris 6

Entrée libre

Conférence en anglais

Ajouter à mon agenda

 

Partager

Mots clés

Conférence

Voir aussi