Critical Conversations on the Neurosciences from feminist, sociological, and philosophical points of view

Replay

Friday, March 15th, the Collège d'études mondiales welcomed a conference dedicated to learning from Prof. Pitts-Taylor Yvonne Foerster (philosopher, Leuphana University), Chiara Cappelletto (philosopher, Milan University) and Blandine Bril (psychologist, EHESS).

The “brain”-sciences (neuro-/cognitive sciences) have taken hold of much of how we explain (and sometimes explain away) our everyday behavior. Even children have been known to pronounce that unwanted behavior because “my brain made me do it”. That an increasing number of people suffer from mental health issues, that depression, burn-out, and general brain-related health problems such as migraine are on the rise can be read about in the press. Even in criminal court, a perpetrator’s crimes will be judged with the input of experts on cognitive science, meanwhile crafty entrepreneurs attempt to understand the ways of the brain to better target advertisement and consumer product placements.

“Neuro”-talk infects the ways we speak with one another day-to-day, while more and more aspects of life cannot exist anymore without the input and governance of cognitive science: No wonder some speak of our age as one of “neuropolitics”, especially when some researchers even claim our choice in the voting booth is a matter of brain-structures, and that there were such things as liberal and conservative brains, which political advertisers are trying to make use of. That the brain is as political as are our daily lives makes critical views on this matter called “cognition/cognitive science” necessary, as these sciences and ideas can be used to surveil and control our lives or they can generate more autonomy.

Scholars like Victoria Pitts-Taylor, using the tools of social science and feminist science studies, bring such critical views to the table and help us understand what is going on, what the risks and what the chances are, and how we can keep a both open and critical mind.

Conference organised by Alexander I. Stingl, fellow at Collège d'études mondiales, FMSH, co-sponsored by the Paris Institute for Critical Thinking (PICT) and the Independent Social Research Foundation (ISRF).

Share
Replay

Related events

Critical Conversations on the Neurosciences from feminist, sociological, and philosophical points of view

Vidéo de la rencontre

Vendredi 15 mars 2019, le Collège d'études mondiales a acceuilli une rencontre dédiée aux enseignements du professeur Pitts-Taylor (Université de Wesleyan), d'Yvonne Foerster (philosophe, Leuphana University), de Chiara Cappelletto (philosophe, Milan University) et de Blandine Bril (psychologue, EHESS).

Les sciences du "cerveau" (neurosciences / sciences cognitives) ont en grande partie pris en charge la manière dont nous expliquons (et parfois expliquions) notre comportement quotidien. Même les enfants ont l'habitude de justifier leur mauvais comportement par "mon cerveau m'a obligé à le faire". On peut lire dans la presse qu'un nombre croissant de personnes souffrent de problèmes de santé mentale, que la dépression, l'épuisement professionnel et les problèmes de santé liés au cerveau, tels que la migraine, sont en hausse. Même dans les tribunaux pénaux, les crimes d’un auteur seront jugés avec l’aide d’experts en sciences cognitives, tandis que des entrepreneurs astucieux tentent de comprendre les mécanismes du cerveau pour mieux cibler la publicité et les placements de produits de consommation.

Les "Neuro-talk" affectent les façons dont nous parlons les uns les autres, alors que de plus en plus d’aspects de la vie ne peuvent plus exister sans l’influence et la gouvernance des sciences cognitives : il n’est donc pas étonnant que certains parlent de notre époque comme "neuropolitique", en particulier lorsque certains chercheurs affirment que même notre choix dans l'isoloir est une question de structures cérébrales et qu'il existait des cerveaux tels que des cerveaux libéraux et conservateurs, que les annonceurs politiques tentent d'utiliser. Le fait que le cerveau soit aussi politique que nos vies quotidiennes rend nécessaires des vues critiques sur ce sujet, appelées "sciences cognitives", car ces sciences et idées peuvent être utilisées pour surveiller et contrôler nos vies ou générer davantage d'autonomie.

Des érudites comme Victoria Pitts-Taylor, utilisant les outils des sciences sociales et des études scientifiques féministes, apportent des points de vue aussi critiques et nous aident à comprendre ce qui se passe, quels sont les risques et les chances de réussite, et comment nous pouvons garder à la fois un esprit ouvert et critique.

Conférence organisée par Alexander I. Stingl, chercheur invité au Collège d'études mondiales, FMSH, en partenariat avec le Paris Institute for Critical Thinking (PICT) et l'Independent Social Research Foundation (ISRF).

Partager
Replay

Voir aussi