12 February 2019

The Temptation of Luxury

Workshop - Tuesday, February 12th

In a modern world marked by instrumental rationality, the fascination with luxury remains the same, especially among those who get rich in sectors dominated by economic parameters. However, luxury manages to escape the cold logic of economy: it cannot be reduced to pure market value, as it bears the mark of excess and expenditure. The issue of luxury in anthropology was raised specifically with reference to the symbolic consistence of the precious commodities, and to the patterns that regulate their the circulation and appropriation. During a previous workshop, we addressed the question of precious commodities and how they crystallized value. We focused on the object, and the ways in which it is embedded into a particular story and into forms of sacredness or exchange circuits.

In the capitalist world, it seems appropriate to privilege the commodification or fetishization of luxury items. Luxury markets are structured around large conglomerates, and this has had a lasting impact on how the field is shaped. The trading devices that are currently implemented, as well as the mediatization and digitization through blogs and online sales systems, have contributed to desacralizing the image of luxury. Luxury is made visible everywhere, in public spaces, shopping malls, airports, even in the metro, to a public that for the most part does not have access to it. In countries where austerity was imposed for a long time, luxury has resurfaced and has generated a craze whose measure is given by the accelerated trajectories of enrichment that can be observed especially in the former communist countries, starting with Russia and China.

This general context has had the effect of inducing a perception of luxury focused primarily on the object, and which in turn reduces the subject to the role of consumer. However, the relation to luxury deserves to be considered in all its complexity: in order to do so, it is worth shifting the focus and privileging the point of view of the subject who carries desires and fantasies, and for whom the meaning of luxury resides in the dream associated with the object. Hence the idea of taking seriously the temptation of luxury. Temptation, as the dictionary tells us, is ‘‘what encourages action by awakening desire’’. Another definition: ‘‘impulse that drives towards sin and evil’’. Temptation indeed carries with it the stigma of transgression. One ‘‘succumbs’’ to temptation: that is to say that things can go wrong.

It is the subversive side of luxury that is emphasized here. Luxury, lust: the association has been made not only by the Christian tradition but also by the communist vulgate. Nevertheless, temptation as such has not been eradicated, and it has resurfaced, alive and well, with the triumph of the market economy. The fact that everyone can be tempted by luxury also means that the correlation between luxury and wealth is not necessarily relevant. Everyone carries with him or herself a desire for luxury that is not necessarily indexable at the price of a commodity. What feeds temptation is rather the anticipation of spending, of tearing away from the immediate constraints of everyday life, as well as the possibility of emancipating oneself from the weight of one's own history and from binding social determinants. Luxury, thus, becomes a mode of affirmation for the subject, and it is particularly appreciated in those countries that have suffered the rigors of austerity.

Does the temptation of luxury have cathartic virtues? Is it, conversely, a pathology of the neoliberal model of globalization? This is also one of the questions that we want to raise in this round table, which will bring together anthropologists, media scholars, psychoanalysts, and sociologists. Beyond the figures and usual stereotypes that too often flatten its anthropological dimension, we will try to analyze - through different fields and experiences - the processes that allow to better understand the relationship of subjects to luxury, the subtle dialectic of attraction and repulsion, and also the recurrence of images and styles that help to define a common world of contemporary luxury.

Workshop organised by Marc Abélès (EHESS-CNRS-Collège d'études mondiales) and Lynda Dematteo (CNRS) within the Luxury in the age of globalisation Chair.

Speakers

| Marc Abélès (EHESS-CNRS-Collège d'études mondiales)
Préférence, influence: le monde enchanté des it girls

| Djurdja Bartlett (London College of Fashion de l'University of Arts de Londres)
Politics of Luxury: The Burdens of Culture and Ideology in Sartorial Exchanges

| Catherine Becker (CELSA)
La tentation du luxe en Chine: moteur ou limites du système ?

| Valerio Coladonato (The American University of Paris)
Luxe et séduction des classes populaires : Eva Perón, Lady Diana, Beyoncé

| Lynda Dematteo (CNRS)
François Fillon, Arnys et le diable en anthropologie

| Sara Guindani (Université Paris 8, FMSH)
Le luxe, une pathologie de la limite ?

| Thierry Paquot (Institut d’urbanisme de Paris)
Le luxe, compatible avec l’écologie ?

| Nick Rees-Roberts (Université Sorbonne Nouvelle Paris 3)
Fashion Film and the Luxury Economy

| Boris Petric (Centre Norbert Elias)
Désir et peur sur les vins français: ethnographie d’une marchandise de luxe

| Jacqueline Tsai (Université Paris-Sorbonne)

 

Details

Workshop

Tuesday, February 12th
9:30am - 6pm

Room A3-35
FMSH | 54, bd Raspail, Paris 6

Free entrance

Presentation in French

Ajouter à mon agenda

Share
Study day

12 février 2019

La tentation du luxe

Journée d'étude | Mardi 12 février

Dans le monde moderne fortement marqué par la rationalité instrumentale, la fascination pour le luxe demeure intacte, et particulièrement chez ceux qui s’enrichissent dans des secteurs dominés par les paramètres de l’économie. Or le luxe échappe à la froide logique de l’économie, il ne se réduit pas à la pure valeur marchande, mais porte la marque de l’excès, de la dépense. C’est précisément en référence à la consistance symbolique des biens précieux, aux modes de circulation et d’appropriation dont ils font l’objet que l’anthropologie aborde la question du luxe. Lors d’une précédente journée d’étude on a abordé la question des biens précieux et de la manière dont ils cristallisent de la valeur. Le regard était porté sur l’objet dans son rapport à une histoire, à des formes de sacralité, à son insertion dans des circuits d’échange.

Dans le monde capitaliste, le fait de privilégier la dimension marchande de l’article de luxe et la fétichisation dont il fait l’objet, ne semble pas incongru. La structuration du marché du luxe autour de grands conglomérats a durablement transformé ce secteur. Les dispositifs commerciaux mis en place, l’usage des médias et d’internet à travers les blogs et les systèmes de vente en ligne contribuent à désacraliser l’image du luxe. Il est partout donné à voir, dans les espaces publics, les galeries marchandes, les centres commerciaux, les aéroports, jusque dans le métro, à un public qui très majoritairement n’y a pas accès. Dans des pays longtemps contraints à l’austérité, il a refait surface et connait un engouement à la mesure des trajectoires d’enrichissement accéléré qu’on observe notamment dans les anciens pays communistes, à commencer par la Russie et la Chine.

Ce contexte général a eu pour effet d’induire une perception du luxe axée avant tout sur l’objet et qui par contrecoup réduit le sujet à son rôle de consommateur. Or le rapport au luxe mérite d’être envisagé dans toute sa complexité, et pour ce faire, il vaut la peine de faire varier la focale, en privilégiant cette fois le point de vue du sujet - un sujet doté de désir, de fantasmes, et pour lequel ce qui fait sens, c’est la part de rêve associée à l’image de l’objet. D’où l’idée de prendre au sérieux la tentation du luxe. La tentation, nous dit le dictionnaire, c’est "ce qui incite à une action en éveillant le désir". Autre définition : "impulsion qui pousse au péché, au mal". Car la tentation porte en elle les stigmates de la transgression. On "succombe" à la tentation : autant dire que les choses peuvent mal finir.

C’est la dimension subversive du luxe qui est ici soulignée. Luxe, luxure : l’association n’a pas seulement été faite par la tradition chrétienne, mais aussi par la vulgate communiste. Pour autant, la tentation en tant que telle n’a pas été éradiquée, et elle a resurgi, vivace, avec le triomphe de l’économie de marché. Que chacun puisse être tenté par le luxe signifie aussi que la corrélation entre luxe et richesse n’est pas nécessairement pertinente. Chacun porte en soi une désir de luxe qui n’est pas nécessairement indexable au prix d’une marchandise. Ce qui alimente la tentation, c’est plutôt l’anticipation de la dépense, et d’un arrachement aux contraintes immédiates du quotidien, la possibilité aussi de s’émanciper du poids d’une histoire et de déterminations sociales contraignantes. Le luxe devient alors un mode d’affirmation du sujet, particulièrement apprécié dans les pays qui ont subi les rigueurs de l’austérité.

La tentation du luxe aurait-elle des vertus cathartiques ? Est-elle, à l’inverse une pathologie du modèle néolibéral ? C’est aussi l’une des questions qui sera soulevée dans cette table ronde qui mettra en présence anthropologues, historiens, psychanalystes et sociologues. Par-delà les chiffres et les stéréotypes ordinaires qui trop souvent en aplatissent la dimension anthropologique nous essaierons d’analyser, à travers la diversité des terrains et des expériences, des processus qui permettent de mieux comprendre les rapports des sujets au luxe, la dialectique subtile d’attraction et de répulsion qu’il suscite, mais aussi la récurrence d’images et de styles qui contribuent à dessiner un monde commun du luxe contemporain.

Journée d'étude proposée par Marc Abélès (EHESS-CNRS-Collège d'études mondiales) et Lynda Dematteo (CNRS) dans le cadre de la chaire Anthropologie globale du luxe.

Intervenants

| Marc Abélès (EHESS-CNRS-Collège d'études mondiales)
Préférence, influence : le monde enchanté des it girls

| Djurdja Bartlett (London College of Fashion de l'University of Arts de Londres)
Politics of Luxury: The Burdens of Culture and Ideology in Sartorial Exchanges

| Catherine Becker (CELSA),
La tentation du luxe en Chine: moteur ou limites du système ?

| Valerio Coladonato (The American University of Paris)
Luxe et séduction des classes populaires : Eva Perón, Lady Diana, Beyoncé

| Lynda Dematteo (CNRS)
François Fillon, Arnys et le diable en anthropologie

| Sara Guindani (Université Paris 8, FMSH)
Le luxe, une pathologie de la limite ?

| Thierry Paquot (Institut d’urbanisme de Paris)
Le luxe, compatible avec l’écologie ?

| Nick Rees-Roberts (Université Sorbonne Nouvelle Paris 3)
Fashion Film and the Luxury Economy

| Boris Petric (Centre Norbert Elias),
Désir et peur sur les vins français : ethnographie d’une marchandise de luxe

| Jacqueline Tsai (Université Paris-Sorbonne)

Détails

Journée d'étude

Mardi 12 février 2019
9h30 - 18h

Salle A3-35
FMSH | 54, bd Raspail, Paris 6

Entrée libre

Ajouter à mon agenda

Partager
Journée d'étude