The cultural logics in the field of scientific policy advice in France

Analyzing the justifications in the organizational identity of think tanks

The number of think tanks in environmental and energy policies has rapidly grown since the 1990s in France. The study analyzes the ways think tanks legitimate themselves and how they qualify their expertise in order to explore the field of scientific policy advice in environmental and energy policies. Based on the analysis of 59 mission statements, the study shows that six of Boltanski and Théve-not's orders of worth are used to gain legitimacy and to characterize the expertise of the think tanks. The inspired and the ecological order of worth take up the greatest share in the mission statements.

The author

Thomas Laux works as a post-doctoral research fellow in sociology the the University of Bamberg at the Chair of Sociology, especially Sociological Theory. He obtained his PhD in 2015 from the University of Heidelberg. From August to October 2017, he was a visting fellow at the Collège d’études mondiales at the Fondation Maison des Sciences de l’Homme in Paris. His research focusses on political sociology, especially civil society and social movements, as well as on cultural sociology.

The text

Visiting fellow at the Collège d’études mondiales by Professeur Dominique Méda (Chair Ecologie, travail et emploi) from August to October 2017; financially supported by the Collège d’études mondiales and the Wissenschaftszentrum Berlin (WZB) as part of the project «Changing Societies - New Frameworks for Societal Policies and Decision Making».

Citing this document​: 

Thomas Laux, The cultural logics in the field of scientific policy advice in France. Analyzing the justifications in the organizational identity of think tanks, FMSH-WP-2018-139, décembre 2018.

Download on Open Archives halshs

Share
Publication

Les logiques culturelles dans le champ du conseil scientifique aux politiques publiques en France

Analyse des justifications d’identité organisationnelle des think tanks

Working paper de Thomas Laux en langue anglaise
 

Les Think Tanks sur les politiques environnementales et l’énergie se sont multipliés rapidement en France depuis les années 1990. Cette étude analyse les modes de légitimation des think tanks et la manière dont ils nomment leur expertise afin d’envisager le champ du conseil scientifiques aux politiques publiques de l’environnement et de l’énergie. Basée sur l’analyse de l’énoncé de missions de 59 Think tanks, l’étude montre que six des cités (issues de la théorie de la grandeur de Boltanski et Thévenot) sont utilisées pour légitimer et caractériser l’expertise des Think tanks. La cité inspirée et la cité écologique sont les plus partagées dans les déclarations de missions.

L'auteur

Thomas Laux  est chercheur post-doctoral en sociologie à l'Université de Bamberg, titulaire de la chaire de sociologie. Il a obtenu son doctorat en 2015 à l'Université de Heidelberg. D’août à octobre 2017, il a été invité par le Collège d’études mondiales de la Fondation Maison des Sciences de l’Homme à Paris. Ses recherches portent sur la sociologie politique, en particulier la société civile et les mouvements sociaux, ainsi que sur la sociologie culturelle.

Le texte

Invité au Collège d’études mondiales d’août à octobre 2017 par Dominique Méda (chaire Écologie, travail et emploi) et avec le soutien financier du Collège d’études mondiales et du Wissenschaftszentrum Berlin (WZB), dans le cadre du projet « Changer les sociétés - De nouveaux cadres pour les politiques et la prise de décision de la société ».

Citer ce document : 

Thomas Laux, The cultural logics in the field of scientific policy advice in France. Analyzing the justifications in the organizational identity of think tanks, FMSH-WP-2018-139, décembre 2018.
 

Pour télécharger ce document sur HALSHS

Partager
Parution