14 January 2019

Social Sciences on Social Progress’ Service

Round Table | Monday, January 4th

With Marc Fleurbaey, Marie-Laure Djelic, Olivier Bouin and Sofie Wolthers

Three hundred high-level social scientists from all around the world have conducted an unprecedented joint project: developing collectively multidisciplinary and non-partisan solutions to meet the major challenges of our time.

This fundamental work led to the publication of a vast report on social progress, synthesized by Marc Fleurbaey and a small team of authors in A Manifesto for Social Progress (La Découverte, 2018). This text is a fundamental call to think with the social sciences a better society and proposes a vision based on a new way of thinking and reforming our main institutional pillars: markets, companies, social protection policies and mechanisms of democratic deliberation. It shows that it is possible to do much better now.

On the occasion of the publication of the Manifesto for Social Progress in French, the Foundation Gulbenkian and the Collège d’études mondiales, FMSH, invites you to a roundtable discussion on the reflections led by the International Panel for Social Progress (IPSP), in the presence of Marc Fleurbaey (Professor of Economics at Princeton University, Former Chair of Welfare Economics and Social Justice at the Collège d’études mondiales, FMSH), Marie-Laure Djelic (Co-Director of the School of Management and Research at Sciences Po), Olivier Bouin (Director of the Foundation-Laboratory of Excellence French Network of Institutes for Advanced Studies, former Director of the Collège d’études mondiales) and Sofie Wolthers (director of the film A New Society).

The roundtable will be followed by the screening of the film A New Society, which traces the scope of the IPSP’s project, and develops some of the tracks put forward by researchers to change institutions and social structures.

Details

Round Table

Monday, January 4th 2019
7pm - 9pm

Fondation Gulbenkian | 39 Bd de la Tour Maubourg, Paris 7

Registration

Ajouter à mon agenda

In Partnership with the Fondation Calouste Gulbenkian

Share
Round table

14 janvier 2019

Les sciences sociales au service du progrès social

Table ronde | Lundi 14 janvier

Événement COMPLET - La captation audio de la conférence sera disponible dans les jours qui suivent.

En présence de Marc Fleurbaey, Marie-Laure Djelic, Olivier Bouin et Sofie Wolthers

Trois cents chercheurs en sciences sociales de haut niveau et du monde entier ont engagé un projet commun inédit : développer collectivement des solutions pluridisciplinaires et non partisanes pour répondre aux enjeux majeurs de notre époque.

Ce travail fondamental a donné lieu à la publication d'un vaste rapport sur le progrès social, synthétisé par Marc Fleurbaey et une petite équipe d'auteurs dans Le Manifeste pour le progrès social (La Découverte, 2018). Ce texte constitue un appel fondamental pour penser avec les sciences sociales une société meilleure et propose une vision fondée sur une nouvelle manière de penser et de réformer nos principaux piliers institutionnels : marchés, entreprises, politiques de protection sociale et mécanismes de délibération démocratique. Il montre qu’il est possible de faire beaucoup mieux dès à présent.

À l'occasion de la publication du Manifeste pour le progrès social en français, la Fondation Gulbenkian et le Collège d'études mondiales, FMSH, vous invite à une table ronde autour des réflexions menées par le Panel international pour le progrès social, en présence de Marc Fleurbaey (professeur d’économie a l'université de Princeton, ancien titulaire de la chaire Économie du bien-être au Collège d'études mondiales, FMSH), Marie-Laure Djelic (codirectrice de l’École du management et de l’innovation à Sciences Po), Olivier Bouin (directeur de la fondation-Laboratoire d’excellence Réseau français d’instituts d’études avancées, ancien directeur du Collège d'études mondiales) et Sofie Wolthers (réalisatrice du film A New Society).

La table ronde sera suivie par la projection du film A New Society, qui retrace l'ampleur du projet du panel international, et développe certaines des pistes mises en avant par les chercheurs pour changer les institutions et les structures sociales.

Détails

Table ronde

Lundi 14 janvier 2019
19h - 20h30

Fondation Gulbenkian | 39 Bd de la Tour Maubourg, Paris 7

Complet

Ajouter à mon agenda

En partenariat avec la Fondation Calouste Gulbenkian

 

Partager

Mots clés

Table ronde