25 October 2018

A decade of social movements in Tunisia. Review and Prospects

Conference - Thursday, October 25th

Conference of the Research Initiative Social Movements in the Global Age by Geoffrey Pleyers

Mounir Saidani will present the report on social movements he has just published for the Tunisian Forum of Economic and Social Rights. On the basis of the analysis of the evolutions of a dozen social movements in Tunisia during the last decade (2008-2018), this report draws a portrait of the contexts, actors, practices and modes of operation of the social movements in question.

The starting point of the analysis is an attempt to delineate the historical moment of the exit from an "old" model that had prevailed until the late 1990s, early 2000s, and the progression towards a new model of closer and closer to the "common" characteristics of so-called new social movements.

He will review examples of movements from "Protests Against Thirst" (Summer 2012) to "Manich Mymeh" ("I do not forgive") against the so-called "National Reconciliation" law, 2015-2017) and "Fach Nestannaow" ("What are we waiting for?", Tells the State Budget Law for the year 2018, December 2017-January 2018), going through movements trying to establish projects. of social and solidarity economy ("Association for the Protection of the Palm Grove of the Oasis of Jemna", 2011-2017).

The presentation will show the extreme diversity of the actors (villagers of all ages, young graduates without work, former trade unionists of the student movement, young city-dwellers highly educated, including cyberactivists, artist-agitators, young supporters working as individuals, etc.). The model of analysis that Mounir Saidani has managed to develop and implement will show, in addition to the variety of actions, that the cycle of protest that social Tunisia has been experiencing for a decade is based on the entanglement of three facts:

  • individual and collective processes of construction-deconstruction-identity reconstruction,
  • real and virtual rhizome networking,
  • self-reproductive mobilizations, successive and in snowballs.

Download the research report on social movements in Tunisia (in Arabic).

 

Speaker

Mounir Saidani, University Tunis El Manar

 

Learn more

The conferences of the Social Movements in the Global Age Research Initiative analyze social movements in the South of the planet or regions that are generally not very visible in the sociological field, such as Eastern Europe with the aim of better integrating researchers, analysts and actors from these regions into building a global, multi-situated perspective on social movements and the challenges of democracy in this troubled period.

Details

Conference

Thursday, October 25th
6pm to 8 pm

Room A3-50
FMSH | 54, bd Raspail, Paris 6

Free entrance

Conference in French

Ajouter à mon agenda

Share
Conference

Related events

25 octobre 2018

Une décennie de mouvements sociaux en Tunisie. Bilan et perspectives

Conférence - Jeudi 25 octobre

Conférence de l'initiative de recherche Mouvements sociaux à l’âge global de Geoffrey Pleyers

Mounir Saidani présentera le rapport consacré aux mouvements sociaux qu’il vient de publier pour le Forum Tunisien des Droits Economiques et Sociaux. Sur la base de l'analyse des évolutions d’une douzaine de mouvements sociaux en Tunisie durant la dernière décennie (2008-2018), ce rapport dresse un portait des contextes, acteurs, pratiques et modes de fonctionnement des mouvements sociaux en question.

Le point de départ de l'analyse est un essai de délimitation du moment historique de la sortie d'un modèle "ancien" qui avait prévalu jusqu'à la fin des années 1990, débuts des années 2000 et la progression vers un nouveau modèle de plus en plus proche des caractéristiques "communes" des mouvements sociaux dits de type nouveaux.

Seront passés en revue des exemples de mouvements qui vont des "Protestations contre la Soif" (été 2012) aux compagnes "Manich M'smeh" ("Je ne pardonne pas", contre La loi dite de la "Réconciliation Nationale", 2015-2017) et "Fach Nestannaow" ("Qu'attendons-nous?", conte la loi du Budget de l'État pour l'année 2018, décembre 2017-janvier 2018), en passant par des mouvements tentant d'instaurer des projets d'économie sociale et solidaire ("Association pour la Protection du Palmeraie de l'Oasis de Jemna", 2011-2017).

L'exposé montrera l’extrême diversité des acteurs (villageois(es) de tous âges, jeunes diplômé(e)s sans travail, ancien(ne)s syndicalistes du mouvement estudiantin, jeunes citadin(e)s hautement cultivé(e)s, dont des cyberactivistes, artistes-agitateurs/agitatrices, jeunes partisans exerçant à titre individuel indépendant, ...). Le modèle d'analyse que Mounir Saidani est parvenu à monter et à mettre en oeuvre montrera, outre la variété des actions, que le cycle de protestation que traverse la Tunisie sociale depuis une décennie repose sur l'enchevêtrement de trois faits :

  • des processus individuels et collectifs de construction-déconstruction-reconstruction identitaire,
  • des réseautages en rhizomes  réels et virtuels,
  • des mobilisations auto-reproductives, successives et en boules de neige.

Télécharger le rapport de recherche sur les mouvements sociaux en Tunisie (en arabe).

 

Intervenant

Mounir Saidani, Université Tunis El Manar

 

Et aussi

Les conférences de l'initiative de recherche Mouvements sociaux à l’âge global proposent des analyses de mouvements sociaux du Sud de la planète ou de régions qui sont généralement peu visibles dans le champ sociologique, comme l’Europe de l’Est, dans l’objectif de mieux intégrer les chercheurs, analyses et acteurs de ces régions dans la construction d’une perspective globale multi-située sur les mouvements sociaux et les défis de la démocratie en cette période troublée.

Détails

Conférence

Jeudi 25 octobre
18h-20h

Salle A3-50
FMSH | 54, bd Raspail, Paris 6

Entrée libre

Ajouter à mon agenda

Partager
Conférence