18 October 2018

Conservative social movements in Central and Eastern Europe. The constitutional issues of a transnational mobilization

Conference - Thursday, October 18th

Conference of the Research Initiative Social Movements in the Global Age by Geoffrey Pleyers

In the perspective of a better integration of the social movements of Central and Eastern Europe in the analyzes of the social movements at the global age, Camil Parvu will analyze mobilizations around citizen initiatives of modification of the constitution in Eastern Europe. He will be particularly interested in the mobilizations of conservative communities around the proposal to ban gay marriage in the constitution. These mobilizations involve different types of actors, strategies and repertoires of action that can be found in different countries of the region, with processes of resonance, learning and transnational dissemination.

This will be the occasion to return to the referendum of October 7th on the constitutional revision in Romania that originated in a citizens' initiative. Similar referendums were held in Slovakia and Croatia. These conservative mobilizations are particularly important in the region.

 

Speaker

Camil Parvu, Professor at the University of Bucarest

 

Learn more

The conferences of the Social Movements in the Global Age Research Initiative analyze social movements in the South of the planet or regions that are generally not very visible in the sociological field, such as Eastern Europe with the aim of better integrating researchers, analysts and actors from these regions into building a global, multi-situated perspective on social movements and the challenges of democracy in this troubled period.

 

Details

Conference

Thursday, October 18th
6pm to 8 pm

Room A3-50
FMSH | 54, bd Raspail, Paris 6

Free entrance

Conference in French

Ajouter à mon agenda

Share
Conference

18 octobre 2018

Mouvements sociaux conservateurs en Europe centrale et orientale. Les enjeux constitutionnels d'une mobilisation transnationale.

Conférence - Jeudi 18 octobre

Conférence de l'initiative de recherche Mouvements sociaux à l’âge global de Geoffrey Pleyers

Dans la perspective d’une meilleure intégration des mouvements sociaux d’Europe centrale et orientale dans les analyses des mouvements sociaux à l’âge global, Camil Parvu analysera des mobilisations autour des initiatives citoyennes de modification de la constitution en Europe de l'Est. Il s'intéressera particulièrement aux mobilisations des communautés conservatrices autour de la proposition d'interdire le mariage gay dans la constitution. Ces mobilisations impliquent différents type d'acteurs, de stratégies et de répertoires d'action que l’on retrouve dans différents pays de la région, avec des processus de résonance, d'apprentissage et dissémination transnationale.

Ce sera notamment l’occasion de revenir sur le referendum du 7 octobre sur la révision constitutionnelle en Roumanie qui trouve son origine dans une initiative citoyenne. Des référendums semblables ont eu lieu en Slovaquie et en Croatie. Ces mobilisations conservatrices sont particulièrement importantes dans la région.

 

Intervenant

Camil Parvu, Professeur à l’Université de Bucarest

 

Et aussi

Les conférences de l'initiative de recherche Mouvements sociaux à l’âge global proposent des analyses de mouvements sociaux du Sud de la planète ou de régions qui sont généralement peu visibles dans le champ sociologique, comme l’Europe de l’Est, dans l’objectif de mieux intégrer les chercheurs, analyses et acteurs de ces régions dans la construction d’une perspective globale multi-située sur les mouvements sociaux et les défis de la démocratie en cette période troublée.

 

Détails

Conférence

Jeudi 18 octobre
18h-20h

Salle A3-50
FMSH | 54, bd Raspail, Paris 6

Entrée libre

Ajouter à mon agenda

Partager
Conférence