15 October 2018

Digital break in Brazil: progress and challenges of the democratic promise

Conference - Monday October 15th

Conference of the Research Initiative Social Movements in the Global Age by Geoffrey Pleyers

This conference will address the democratic promise of the digital age based on the analysis of 29 popular media experiences in Brazil: community radio and television, neighborhood newspapers or digital activism platforms. The results of this research raise a cross-cutting issue that goes beyond the case of Brazil.

New technologies have made progress in opening spaces for the expression of dissonant voices. However, to achieve a state of full democracy, we must integrate the ability of each of these voices to question and transform the social order. Communication processes capable of generating commitment and solidarity play a major role in this area.

 

Speaker

Ana Suzina, Postdoc at University of Louvain

 

Learn more

The conferences of the Social Movements in the Global Age Research Initiative analyze social movements in the South of the planet or regions that are generally not very visible in the sociological field, such as Eastern Europe with the aim of better integrating researchers, analysts and actors from these regions into building a global, multi-situated perspective on social movements and the challenges of democracy in this troubled period.

 

Details

Conference

Monday October 15th
6pm to 8 pm

Room A3-50
FMSH | 54, bd Raspail, Paris 6

Free entrance

Conference in French

Ajouter à mon agenda

Share

15 octobre 2018

Rupture numérique au Brésil : avancées et défis de la promesse démocratique

Conférence - Lundi 15 octobre

Conférence de l'initiative de recherche Mouvements sociaux à l’âge global de Geoffrey Pleyers

Cette conférence abordera la promesse démocratique de l'ère numérique basée sur l'analyse de 29 expériences médiatiques populaires au Brésil : radio et télévision communautaires, journaux de quartier ou plateformes d'activisme numérique. Les résultats de cette recherche soulèvent une question transversale qui dépasse le cas du Brésil.

Les nouvelles technologies ont permis des avancées pour ouvrir des espaces d’expression de voix dissonantes. Cependant, pour atteindre un état de pleine démocratie, il faut intégrer la capacité de chacune de ces voix à questionner et transformer l'ordre social. Des processus de communication capables de générer de l'engagement et de la solidarité jouent un rôle majeur en la matière.

 

Intervenante

Ana Suzina, Post-doctorante à l’Université de Louvain

 

Et aussi

Les conférences de l'initiative de recherche Mouvements sociaux à l’âge global proposent des analyses de mouvements sociaux du Sud de la planète ou de régions qui sont généralement peu visibles dans le champ sociologique, comme l’Europe de l’Est, dans l’objectif de mieux intégrer les chercheurs, analyses et acteurs de ces régions dans la construction d’une perspective globale multi-située sur les mouvements sociaux et les défis de la démocratie en cette période troublée.

 

Détails

Conférence

Lundi 15 octobre
18h-20h

Salle A3-50
FMSH | 54, bd Raspail, Paris 6

Entrée libre

Ajouter à mon agenda

Partager
Conférence