12 October 2017

Producing the Banlieue

rethinking infrastructural landscape and Paris’s metropolitan identity via the périphérique

Conference by Justinien Tribillon* for the Global Cities Chair

Discussant: Mathieu Flonneau**

 

Landscapes can be deceptive. Sometimes a landscape seems to be less a setting for the life of its inhabitants than a curtain behind which their struggles, achievements and accidents take place. For those who, with the inhabitants, are behind the curtain, landmarks are no longer only geographic, but also biographical and personal. (John Berger & Jean Mohr (1967) A fortunate man: the story of a country doctor

 

The 1st of January 2016 has been set as the birthdate for the Métropole du Grand Paris. The new political institution comes as one of the outcomes of the institutional momentum started almost ten years ago and that has seen the idea of a ‘Greater Paris’ back at the forefront of local and national political scene. The impetus led to a wealth of architectural competitions, academic colloquia, and institutional initiatives that sought to think and design the ‘Grand Paris’, yet it only included a timid attempt at reconsidering the relationship between Paris and its Banlieue. The main tangible results of almost a decade of ‘Greater Paris’ bonanza are a political institution—the aforementioned Métropole du Grand Paris—and an ambitious public transport scheme that will impact the regional landscape of  Paris.

Yet, right on the edge of Paris proper, an infrastructure embodies the divide between Paris and its Banlieue. The périphérique, achieved in 1973 has come to symbolise the frontier between the “Grande Cité” and its “adornment” in the word of Baron Haussmann. While the vision of the périphérique as a frontier is now such as commonplace it has become a cliché, it should also be pointed out that there is much prejudice—from academic and non-academic discourse—on this specific space, but also on the reasons why the périphérique still remains the symbol of the divide Paris/Banlieue.

For this seminar, Justinien would like to explore the space of the périphérique using Matthew Gandy’s notion of “infrastructural landscape”, which combines the prosaic physical and organisational structures of Paris with the notion of landscape inherited from fine arts. He will explore the concept of ‘landscape’ and dissect the term ‘infrastructure’, the latter being too often taken for granted.

The larger doctoral research Justinien is undertaking on this topic also arises from questioning his own assumptions about Paris’s edges. As a Parisian born and bred, based in London for many years, he has come to question his own understanding of his hometown and its relationship to the suburbs. This seminar will also be based on observations and pictures from a walk around the périphérique completed within twenty-four hours in September 2017. 


* Justinien is an urbanist, writer and editor. Born and bred in Paris, he is based in London. Justinien explores cities with ideas, concepts, images, quantitative and qualitative data. He works with architecture practices, municipalities and research centres in Paris and London. Justinien writes for publications such as MONU and The Guardian, he is a co-founder and editor of Migrant Journal. Trained in social sciences, urban strategies and design, Justinien holds a Master’s degree in Urban and Regional Strategies from Sciences Po and an MSc in City Design and Social Science from the London School of Economics. Justinien is also a PhD candidate researching the divide Paris/Banlieue at The Bartlett, University College London where he also teaches urban studies.

** Mathieu Flonneau is a historian and academic, a lecturer in contemporary history in Paris I Panthéon-Sorbonne (SIRICE-CRHI, LabEx EHNE), specialist in urban history, mobility and motoring. He is the director of the Institute for Economic and Social Administration in the Sorbonne School of Law. He is the founder of the Passé Présent Mobilité P2M group and co-directs two collections: at Descartes & Cie, "Cultures Mobiles", and at the Sorbonne Publications: "Mobilities & Societies". He co-directed with Annie FOURCAUT, Emmanuel BELLANGER, Paris-Banlieues. Conflits et solidarités, Paris, Creaphis, 2007.

Details

Thursday October 12, 2017

5 pm - 7 pm

FMSH

54, Boulevard Raspail

Room A3-50

Ajouter à mon agenda

Share
Conference

12 octobre 2017

Produire la Banlieue

Repenser le paysage infrastructurel et l’identité métropolitaine de Paris via le Boulevard Périphérique

Conférence de Justinien Tribillon* pour la chaire Villes Globales, dans le cadre du projet Global Streets 

Discutant : Mathieu Flonneau**

Landscapes can be deceptive. Sometimes a landscape seems to be less a setting for the life of its inhabitants than a curtain behind which their struggles, achievements and accidents take place. For those who, with the inhabitants, are behind the curtain, landmarks are no longer only geographic, but also biographical and personal. (John Berger & Jean Mohr (1967) A fortunate man: the story of a country doctor

 

Le 1er janvier 2016 marque la naissance de la Métropole du Grand Paris. Ce nouvel organe politique marque l’un des accomplissements de la dynamique institutionnelle qui débuta il y a une décennie, et qui a vu l’idée d’un Grand Paris revenir sur le devant de la scène politique régionale et nationale. Cette ambition politique a inspiré de nombreux évènements : compétitions architecturales, colloques universitaires et initiatives institutionnelles visant à penser et dessiner le Grand Paris. Pourtant, la possibilité d’une véritable refonte de la relation entre Paris et Banlieue n’a été abordée que timidement. Après dix ans, les produits tangibles de cette course au Grand Paris sont la création de la Métropole mentionnée précédemment, et un ambitieux réseau de transport qui semble porter tout l’imaginaire et les attentes grand-parisien sur ses rails.

 

Pourtant, aux limites de Paris ‘intramuros’, une infrastructure routière symbolise cette division entre Paris et Banlieue. Le Boulevard Périphérique, inauguré en 1973, est désormais la personnification même de ce fossé entre la « Cité » et sa « parure » selon les mots du Baron Haussmann. Tandis que la mention du Périphérique comme frontière est désormais un tel lieu commun qu’elle est en devenue un cliché, on oublie de réfléchir à la puissance du préjudice et de l’a priori—qui émane des discours généralistes comme universitaires—sur cet espace si particulier, et plus généralement sur les raisons profondes pour lesquelles le Périphérique demeure un si puissant symbole de la division Paris/Banlieue.

 

Pour cette conférence, Justinien Tribillon souhaite explorer l’espace du Périphérique en utilisant la notion de « paysage infrastructurel » proposée par Matthew Gandy, qui combine les réseaux physiques et organisationnels de la ville avec la notion de paysage héritée des beaux-arts. Il explorera le concept de paysage, et décortiquerai le terme d’infrastructure, que l’on considère trop souvent comme acquis.

 

Enfin, la recherche doctorale qu'il entreprend sur un temps plus long a été nourrie par une remise en question de ce que je croyais savoir des limites de Paris intramuros. Parisien de naissance, basé à Londres de longue date, il (re)découvre Paris dans sa relation à ‘sa’ Banlieue, au travers de mon expérience Londonienne. Ainsi, cette conférence sera aussi basée sur des observations sur le terrain et des éléments visuels collectés lors d’une marche tout autour du Périphérique, réalisée en vingt-quatre heures en Septembre 2017.


* Justinien Tribillon est un urbaniste, essayiste et éditeur. Basé à Londres, Justinien explore les villes avec des idées, concepts, images, des données qualitatives et quantitatives. Il travaille avec des bureaux d’architectes et de paysagisme, des collectivité locales et des centres de recherche à Londres, Paris et à travers l’Europe. Justinien écrit pour des revues et journaux tels que MONU et The Guardian, il est également rédacteur et éditeur de la revue Migrant Journal. Diplômé de Sciences Po et de la London School of Economics en sciences sociales, politique urbaine et design urbain, Justinien est désormais doctorant à University College London où il recherche la frontière Paris/Banlieue tout en enseignant l’urbanisme en licence et master.

** Mathieu Flonneau est historien et universitaire, maître de conférences en histoire contemporaine à Paris I Panthéon-Sorbonne (SIRICE-CRHI, LabEx EHNE), spécialiste d’histoire urbaine, des mobilités et de l’automobilisme. Il est directeur de l’Institut Administration Economique et Sociale dans l’Ecole de Droit de la Sorbonne. Il est fondateur du groupe Passé Présent Mobilité P2M et co-dirige deux collections : chez Descartes&Cie, « Cultures Mobiles », et aux Publications de la Sorbonne : « Mobilités&Sociétés ». Il a notamment co-dirigé avec Annie FOURCAUT, Emmanuel BELLANGER ,Paris-Banlieues. Conflits et solidarités, Paris, Creaphis, 2007.

Détails

Jeudi 12 octobre 2017

17h-19h

FMSH

54, Boulevard Raspail

Salle A3-50

Ajouter à mon agenda

Partager
Conférence