28 June 2017

Indeterminate spaces, reclaimed spaces, contested spaces

Urban development and the struggle for the political

The contribution presented by Enrico Gualini in the framework of the programme Global Streets at the Chair Villes Globales addresses the topic of the presence of indeterminate, appropriable, and contested spaces in contemporary cities, and discusses it against the background of debates on the nature of the ‘urban political’.

In how far do urban development conflicts challenge our understanding of politics and ‘the political’? And in how far can they contribute to redefining the meaning of democratic politics in urban contexts? The presentation stems from an engagement with current debates on democracy and the political, and connects it with critical urbans studies by exploring the spatial dimension of contention and urban mobilization in cities.

The presentation advances some more general reflections on the topic, based on a critical observation of distinctive features of urban conflicts in Berlin – a paradigmatic case of a city where the presence of ‘indeterminate spaces’ is a stake of social practices in which the reclaiming of spatial resources develops a dimension of contention and agonism and, ultimately, develops a potential for the renewal of political practices. Far from reflecting a purely theoretical debate, it looks at conflicts as empirical manifestations of a struggle for redefining the borders of the political – under conditions that may be defined as ‘post-political’ – and at the role played in this by spatiality.

Enrico Gualini has invited Marco Cremaschi, Professor and Director of the Cycle d’urbanisme at Sciences Po as discussant. 

Details

Salle du Conseil A | 54, boulevard Raspail | 75006 Paris

Wednedsay, June 28th 2017

17h00-19h00

Free entrance

Ajouter à mon agenda

foto: Enrico Gualini © 2015

Share
Seminar

28 juin 2017

Indeterminate spaces, reclaimed spaces, contested spaces

Urban development and the struggle for the political

La contribution présentée par Enrico Gualini dans le cadre du projet Global Streets de la chaire Villes Globales aborde la présence d’espaces indéterminés, appropriables, et contestés dans les villes contemporaines et en discute avec, comme toile de fond, les débats sur la nature du « politique urbain ».

Dans quelle mesure les conflits de développement urbain remettent-ils en question notre compréhension de la politique et du politique ? Dans quelle mesure peuvent-ils contribuer à redéfinir la signification de la politique démocratique dans des contextes urbains ? La présentation a pour point de départ l’engagement des débats actuels sur la démocratie et le politique et les relie aux études urbaines critiques en explorant la dimension spatiale de la contestation et de la mobilisation urbaine dans les villes.

La présentation avance certaines réflexions plus générales sur le sujet, basées sur l’observation critique des traits distinctifs des conflits urbains à Berlin. C’est un cas paradigmatique d’une ville où la présence d’espaces indéterminés est un enjeu des pratiques sociales où la réappropriation de ressources spatiales développe une dimension de contestation et d’antagonisme et finalement un potentiel pour le renouvellement des pratiques politiques. Loin de refléter un débat purement théorique, elle s’intéresse aux conflits en tant que manifestations empiriques d’une lutte pour la redéfinition des limites du politique, avec des conditions que l’on pourrait définir comme postpolitiques, et au rôle qu’y joue la spatialité.

Enrico Gualini a invité Marco Cremaschi, professeur et directeur du cycle d’urbanisme de Sciences Po comme discutant. 

Détails

Salle du Conseil A | 54, boulevard Raspail | 75006 Paris

Mercredi 28 juin 2017 | 17h00-19h00

Accès libre

Ajouter à mon agenda

foto: Enrico Gualini © 2015

Partager

Mots clés

Séminaire