The Inclusive Wealth Index. A Sustainability Indicator, Really?

Working paper de Géraldine Thiry et Philippe Roman

Among recent high-profile propositions to revise national accounts and to provide new indicators of sustainability and well-being, the Inclusive Wealth Framework and the related Inclusive Wealth Index (thereafter IWI), first released during the "Rio+20" Conference, undoubtedly stand out as the most promising endeavour. Built up at the confluence of welfare, development and sustainability economics, the indicator is supposed to bring information about the wealth of nations and their sustainability, in a comprehensive way. The inclusive wealth framework is nevertheless fraught with limitations, due to questionable theoretical assumptions and gaps in data availability. We propose a critical appraisal of the index and its underlying framework. Our conclusion is that these limitations undermine its capacity to reach the goals it was given, and to fulfill the requirements of a satisfactory sustainability indicator. Special emphasis is put on the misleading pretension of (neoclassical) economics to handle highly complex, uncertain and manifold issues, even on theoretical bases renovated by dropping some optimality assumptions. We briefly sketch alternative research avenues, that appear more conducive to the endorsement of strong sustainability, and less prone to economism. Alleged theoretical consistency and elegance should not beguile us when choosing indicators for sustainable and prosperous societies.

Les auteurs

Géraldine Thiry is a post-doctoral research fellow at the Collège d’études mondiales (Fondation Maison des sciences de l’homme) in Paris. She received her PhD from the Department of Economics at the University of Louvain (UCL) in May 2012. She holds Master’s degrees in Economics and in Political sciences (International relations) from the University of Louvain. Between September 2012 and December 2013, she was researcher in the FP7 European Project « BRAINPOoL » (BRinging Alternative Indicators Into Policies) at the Free University of Brussels (ULB). Her main areas of research are new indicators beyond GDP, the socio-economics of quantification, critical accounting and ecological economics.

Philippe Roman is a PhD candidate in Economics at REEDS (University of Versailles Saint-Quentin-en-Yvelines, UVSQ). He is currently teaching assistant in economics at the Institute of Latin American Studies (IHEAL, Sorbonne Nouvelle – Paris 3). He holds Bachelors in Sociology and Econometrics from the Ecole normale supérieure Lettres et sciences humaines (ENS LSH, Lyon), and Master’s degrees in International economics (ENS LSH) and Ecological economics (UVSQ). He obtained the Agrégation in Economics and social sciences in 2008. His doctoral work focuses on project appraisal frameworks including sustainability and equity issues, with special emphasis on water development projects. He specifically studies a case of water transfer in Northeastern Brazil.

 

Reference

Geraldine Thiry, Philippe Roman. The Inclusive Wealth Index. A Sustainability Indicator, Really?. FMSH-WP-2014-71. 2014.<halshs-01011250>

Share
Publication

Related events

L’Indice de Richesse Inclusive, un indicateur de soutenabilité?

Working paper de Géraldine Thiry et Philippe Roman

Dans le paysage des propositions de comptabilité nationale rénovée et de nouveaux indicateurs de bien-être et de soutenabilité, l'approche de la Richesse Inclusive (Inclusive Wealth Framework) et l'Indicateur de Richesse Inclusive qui lui est associé, lancés en juin 2012 pendant le sommet "Rio + 20", sont particulièrement en vue. Construit à la confluence de l'économie du bien-être, de l'économie du développement et de l'économie de la soutenabilité, l'indicateur est supposé informer, de manière exhaustive (inclusive), sur la richesse des nations et leur soutenabilité. Mais le cadre d'analyse de la Richesse Inclusive présente de nombreux problèmes liés à ses hypothèses et à des insuffisances dans la disponibilité des données. Nous montrons que ces problèmes empêchent l'IWI d'atteindre les objectifs de ses auteurs. Plus fondamentalement, l'IWI ne satisfait pas les conditions d'un bon indicateur de soutenabilité. Nous mettons en question les prétentions de l'économie (néoclassique) à pouvoir traiter des enjeux complexes, incertains et variés, notamment à l'aide d'hypothèses de non-optimalité. Nous évoquons ensuite des pistes de recherche alternatives, dont les fondements nous semblent plus à même de développer une approche forte de la soutenabilité dans une perspective moins économiciste. Le choix de nouveaux indicateurs de prospérité ne doit pas reposer sur des critères d'élégance formelle ou de prétendue cohérence théorique.

Les auteurs

Géraldine Thiry est chercheure post-doctorale au Collège d’Etudes Mondiales (FMSH-Paris), au sein de la Chaire du Prof. Dominique Méda, «Reconversion écologique, travail, emplois et politiques sociales». Après avoir obtenu un diplôme de deuxième cycle en sciences politiques (relations internationales) et deux masters en économie à l’Université Catholique de Louvain (UCL), elle a réalisé un doctorat en sciences économiques (obtenu en mai 2012, à l’UCL). Entre septembre 2012 et décembre 2013, elle a été chercheuse au sein du projet européen FP7 «BRAINPOoL» (BRinging Alternative INdicators into POLicies) à l’Université Libre de Bruxelles (ULB). Ses principaux domaines de recherche sont les nouveaux indicateurs de richesse, la socio-économie de la quantification, la comptabilité critique et l’économie écologique.

Philippe Roman est candidat en doctorat en économie à REEDS (Université de Versailles Saint-Quentin-en-Yvelines, UVSQ). Il est actuellement assistant enseignant en économie à l'Institut d'études latino-américaines (IHEAL, Sorbonne Nouvelle - Paris 3). Il est titulaire d'un baccalauréat en sociologie et économétrie de l'Ecole Normale Supérieure Lettres et Sciences Humaines (ENS LSH, Lyon) et d’un Master en économie internationale (ENS LSH) et en économie écologique (UVSQ). Il a obtenu l'Agrégation en sciences économiques et sociales en 2008. Son travail de doctorat se concentre sur les cadres d'évaluation des projets, y compris les questions de durabilité et d'équité, en mettant l'accent sur les projets de développement de l'eau. Il étudie spécifiquement un cas de transfert d'eau dans le nord-est du Brésil.

Référence

Geraldine Thiry, Philippe Roman. The Inclusive Wealth Index. A Sustainability Indicator, Really?. FMSH-WP-2014-71. 2014.<halshs-01011250>

Partager
Parution

Voir aussi