John Bingham-Hall

Dr John Bingham-Hall is a multi-disciplinary researcher working across spatial science, urban sociology, and cultural analysis, holding a BMus (Music) from Goldsmiths College (London) and an MSc (Advanced Architectural Studies) from UCL (London). His ongoing research interest is in the material and technological infrastructures of culture and the public sphere, having recently completed a PhD in Architectural Space and Computation at the Bartlett School of Architecture (UCL, UK) entitled “The Blog and the Territory: placing hyperlocal media and its publics in a London neighbourhood”.

Since 2015, John has been the researcher for Theatrum Mundi, a network of practitioners and scholars from the arts and built environment disciplines based at LSE Cities, devising and leading research projects addressing issues in the relationship between cultural production and display through workshops, writing, and design challenges.

Beyond research, John has created programmes for meanwhile use and cultural spaces in London, and undertakes consulting for clients working in urban development.

Research project

John holds a postdoctoral fellowship at the Collège d’études mondiales s part of the Global Cities research chair at CEM, and is working with Richard Sennett to expand Theatrum Mundi’s activities to Paris by establishing Atelier TM, a working group of practitioners in sound and architecture.

Publications

John has published articles on space and media in numerous academic journals including Architectural Design, Visual Communication, and Big Data & Society, as well as recent chapters on public art in the volume The Everyday Practice of Public Art (Routledge, London, 2015) and a new volume of essays reflecting on London’s new Art Night (Institute of Contemporary Art, London, 2017).

John Bingham-Hall

Post-doc associé à la chaire Villes globales
Associé au projet de recherche Global Streets

Le travail de recherche de John Bingham-Hall est résolument pluridisciplinaire, à la fois porté sur les études de l'espace, la sociologie urbaine et l'analyse culturelle. Il possède un BMus (Musique) du Goldsmiths College (London) et un MSc (Advanced Architectural Studies) de l'University College London (UCL). Il s'intéresse actuellement aux infrastructures matérielles et technologiques de la culture et de la sphère publique, ayant récemment achevé un doctorat en Architectural Space and Computation à la Bartlett School of Architecture (UCL, UK) intitulé “The Blog and the Territory: placing hyperlocal media and its publics in a London neighbourhood”.

Depuis 2015, John Bingham-Hall est chercheur pour Theatrum Mundi, un réseau des personnalités issues des arts visuels, du spectacle vivant ou de l'urbanisme basé à la LSE (London School of Economics). Ce réseau conçoit des projets de recherche abordant la relation entre production culturelle et exposition/affichage à travers des ateliers, de l'écriture et des défis de design.

En parallèle de son projet de recherche, John a créé des programmes sur l'utilisation des espaces culturels à Londres et entreprend des activités de conseil pour des clients travaillant dans le développement urbain.

Projet de recherche

John est chercheur au Collège d'études mondiales au sein de la Chaire Villes globales et travaille avec Richard Sennett pour étendre les activités de Theatrum Mundi à Paris en établissant l'Atelier TM, un groupe de travail de praticiens dans le son et l'architecture.

Publications

John Bingham-Hall a publié des articles sur l'espace et les médias dans des nombreux journaux universitaires incluant Architectural Design, Visual Communication, et Big Data & Society. Récemment, il a également écrit des chapitres sur l'art public dans le volumeThe Everyday Practice of Public Art (Routledge, London, 2015) et il a participé à un nouveau volume d'essais à propos de la London’s new Art Night (Institute of Contemporary Art, London, 2017).

Focus

http://www.fmsh.fr/fr/node/28357

Atelier TM

Projet de recherche lié à la chaire Villes globales

L'Atelier TM, lié à la chaire Villes Globales, est un groupe d'urbanistes et de musiciens travaillant ensemble pour enrichir mutuellement leurs compétences par de nouveaux questionnements et de nouveaux modes de collaboration.

http://www.fmsh.fr/fr/college-etudesmondiales/28346

Global Streets

Projet de recherche lié à la chaire Villes globales

Le projet Global Streets développé au sein de la chaire Villes globales met l’accent sur l’importance de l’espace urbain indéterminé dans nos villes, devenues chaque fois plus complexes et souvent divisées.

Chercheurs associés