16 May 2017

Slavery, Race, Revolutionary Abolitionism Yesterday and Today

Workshop organised by Françoise Vergès and Marcus Rediker

This workshop is organised by Françoise Vergès and Marcus Rediker as part of Global South(s) Chair's and sponsored by the Collège d'études mondiales/FMSH and the University of Pittsburgh.

At its heart the abolition of slavery has always been a revolutionary project.  It sought to destroy slavery and the power of the slave-owning ruling class; to put an end to racism and colonialism; and to establish freedom and equality. This struggle, which was historically embodied in the Haitian Revolution, informed marooning, insurrections, the Underground Railroad, and later, the struggle against lynching and forced labor.

Rebellious slaves were of course the first abolitionists, but peoples of European descent joined the fight.  The struggle against slavery influenced a variety of other movements, as, for example, workers battled capitalist exploitation and women fought for rights and universal suffrage.  Movements against prisons and capital punishment now claim the mantle of abolitionism. 

At the same time a more conservative element of abolitionism was actively complicit with post-slavery colonization and the politics of cultural assimilation, reparations for slave-owners, and a failure to protect the rights of freedmen and women.  This side of abolitionism represented another disciplinary practice.

This workshop will evaluate the past, present, and future of revolutionary abolitionism, in France and around the world, highlighting new areas of scholarship in the continuities of slavery, race, and resistance from the origins of anti-slavery to Black Lives Matter.  Our goal is to assess the legacy of revolutionary abolitionism and its relevance for current struggles.

Program

Details

Salle du Conseil A | Fondation Maison des sciences de l'homme | 54 boulevard Raspail | 75006 Paris

May 16, 2017 | 9:30

Open to all

Ajouter à mon agenda

Share
Study day

16 mai 2017

Slavery, Race, Revolutionary Abolitionism Yesterday and Today

Journée d'études organisée par Françoise Vergès et Marcus Rediker, le 16 mai

Cette journée d'études est organisée par Françoise Vergès (Collège d’études mondiales/FMSH) et Marcus Rediker (Université de Pittsburgh), dans le cadre de la chaire Global South(s), et financée par le Collège d’études mondiales/FMSH et l'Université de Pittsburgh.

Dans son âme, l'abolition de l'esclavage a toujours été un projet révolutionnaire. Elle a cherché à détruire l'esclavage et le pouvoir de la classe dirigeante possédant l'esclave, à mettre fin au racisme et au colonialisme et à établir la liberté et l'égalité. Cette lutte, qui a été historiquement incarnée dans la Révolution haïtienne, a façonné les insurrections, le Chemin de fer clandestin et, plus tard, la lutte contre le lynchage et le travail forcé.

Les esclaves rebelles étaient bien sûr les premiers abolitionnistes, mais les populations d'origine européenne ont rejoint le combat. La lutte contre l'esclavage a influencé une variété d'autres mouvements comme, par exemple, les travailleurs contre l'exploitation capitaliste et les femmes pour leurs droits et pour le suffrage universel. Les mouvements contre les prisons et contre la peine de mort se réclament aujourd'hui de ce même mouvement.

Dans le même temps, un élément plus conservateur de l'abolitionnisme était activement complice de la colonisation post-esclavagiste et de la politique d'assimilation culturelle, des réparations pour des propriétaires d'esclaves et un échec de protéger les droits d'affranchis et des femmes. Cette frange de l'abolitionnisme a représenté une autre pratique disciplinaire.

Cet atelier évaluera le passé, le présent et l'avenir de l'abolitionnisme révolutionnaire, en France et dans le monde entier, en mettant en évidence les nouvelles zones d'études en continuité avec l'esclavage, la "race" et la résistance des origines anti-esclavagiste du "Black Lives Matter". Le but de la journée est d'évaluer l'héritage d'abolitionniste révolutionnaire et sa pertinence pour les luttes actuelles.

Programme

Détails

Salle du Conseil A | Fondation Maison des sciences de l'homme | 54 boulevard Raspail | 75006 Paris

16 mai 2017 | 9h30-18h

Entrée libre

Les échanges se feront en anglais

Ajouter à mon agenda

Partager

Mots clés

Journée d'étude