Antariksa

Guest artist in the Global South(s) Chair

Antariksa is a historian and co-founder member of KUNCI - Cultural Studies Center, Yogyakarta, Indonesia - a research group whose interests converge around knowledge production, action research and vernacular education..

He studied philosophy at Gadjah Mada University (Yogyakarta) and history (Lembaga Studi Realino, Sanata Dharma University, Yogyakarta).

His main research concerns art and the mobility of ideas in Southeast Asia under the Japanese occupation. He is now working on his new publication 日本占領期のインドネシアにおけるアート集団主義 [Artistic collectivism in Indonesia, during the Japanese occupation] (Kyushu University Press, 2017). Antariksa is currently Associate Researcher at the Institute of Southeast Asian Studies (ISEAS) - Yusof Ishak Institute, Singapour.

Research Project 

Antariksa is a recipient of the 2017 Global South (s) Research Award. A call for candidates was launched as part of the collaboration between the Collège d'études mondiales and Villa Vassilieff for a 6-week research visit to researchers in the Humanities and Social Sciences residing outside France, which is also open to artists.

Antariska is working with the Global South(s) Chair led by Françoise Vergès and the Villa Vassilieff team on a research project within the framework of the general scientific policy of the Collège d'études mondiales and of the Global South(s) Chair:

My research in Paris is a continuation of the ongoing work on artistic collectivism in Indonesia during the Japanese occupation, focusing on the collection of archives and oral histories, notably through interviews in Indonesia, Japan, The Netherlands and Singapore. My research attempts to collect and analyze archives (archives of art schools, exhibition catalogs, photographs ...) in order to better understand the experience of Japanese artists in Paris during the war (Fujita Tsuguharu, Miyamoto Saburō, Mukai Junkichi, Inokuma Gen'ichirō, and Ihara Usaburō to name a few) and their interactions with artists' communities and collectives in Paris. I try to identify the transmission of a "western" aesthetic from Paris to Indonesia, through Japan and how it was transmitted: how it came about, how it influenced the idea of ​​aesthetics and our visual memory of the period of the war in Japan and Indonesia.

Selected Publications

Tuan Tanah Muda : Hubungan LEKRA-Seni Rupa 1950-1965 [Tuan Tanah Kawin Muda : La rela­tion entre l'art et l’Institut de la Culture Populaire 1950-1965] (CAF/IVAA, 2005).

Antariksa

Artiste invité au sein de la chaire Global South(s)

Antariksa est his­to­rien et membre co-fon­da­teur KUNCI - Cultural Studies Centre, Yogyakarta, Indonésie – un col­lec­tif de recher­che dont les inté­rêts conver­gent autour de la pro­duc­tion du savoir, la recher­che-action et l’éducation ver­na­cu­laire.

Il a étudié la philosophie à l'Université Gadjah Mada (Yogyakarta) et l'histoire (Lembaga Studi Realino, Sanata Dharma l'Université, Yogyakarta). 

Ses prin­ci­pa­les recher­ches concer­nent l’art et la mobi­lité des idées en Asie du Sud-Est sous l’occu­pa­tion japo­naise. Il tra­vaille à pré­sent sur sa nou­velle publi­ca­tion 日本占領期のインドネシアにおけるアート集団主義 [Le col­lec­ti­visme artis­ti­que en Indonésie, durant l’occu­pa­tion japo­naise] (Kyushu University Press, 2017). Antariksa est actuel­le­ment cher­cheur asso­cié à l’Institute of Southeast Asian Studies (ISEAS) - Yusof Ishak Institute, Singapour.

Projet de recherche 

Antariksa est bénéficiaire de la bourse de recherche 2017 de la chaire Global South(s). Un appel à candidature a été lancé dans le cadre de la col­­la­­bo­­ra­­tion entre le Collège d'études mondiales et la Villa Vassilieff pour un séjour de recher­­che de 6 semai­­nes adres­­sés aux cher­­cheurs en Sciences Humaines et Sociales rési­­dant hors de France, éga­le­ment ouvert aux artis­­tes.

Antariska tra­­vaille donc en lien avec la Chaire Global South(s) diri­­gée par Françoise Vergès et avec l’équipe de la Villa Vassilieff, autour d’une recher­che s’ins­cri­vant dans le cadre de la poli­­ti­­que scien­­ti­­fi­­que géné­­rale du Collège d’études mon­­dia­­les et de la chaire Global South(s) : 

Mes recher­ches à Paris s’ins­cri­vent dans la conti­nuité de celles en cours sur le col­lec­ti­visme artis­ti­que en Indonésie durant l’occu­pa­tion japo­naise, axées autour de la col­lecte d’archi­ves et de récits oraux notam­ment grâce à des entre­tiens en Indonésie, au Japon, aux Pays-Bas et à Singapour. Mes recher­ches ten­tent de ras­sem­bler et d’ana­ly­ser des archi­ves (archi­ves d’écoles d’art, cata­lo­gues d’expo­si­tion, pho­to­gra­phies…) afin de mieux com­pren­dre l’expé­rience des artis­tes japo­nais à Paris pen­dant la guerre (Fujita Tsuguharu, Miyamoto Saburō, Mukai Junkichi, Inokuma Gen’ichirō, et Ihara Usaburō pour en citer quel­ques uns) ainsi que leurs inte­rac­tions avec les com­mu­nau­tés et col­lec­tifs d’artis­tes à Paris. Je cher­che à iden­ti­fier la trans­mis­sion d’une esthé­ti­que « occi­den­tale » de Paris à l’Indonésie en pas­sant par le Japon et les moda­li­tés de cette trans­mis­sion : com­ment elle s’est effec­tuée, com­ment elle a influencé l’idée d’esthé­ti­que et notre mémoire visuelle de la période de la guerre au Japon et en Indonésie.

Sélection de publications

Tuan Tanah Muda : Hubungan LEKRA-Seni Rupa 1950-1965 [Tuan Tanah Kawin Muda : La rela­tion entre art et l’Institut de la Culture Populaire 1950-1965] (CAF/IVAA, 2005).