08 March 2017

Between noise and information

Toward the ethics of a docte ignorance for the 21st century

Speaker : Cécile Malaspina (Université Paris Diderot - Paris 7)

According to Claude Shannon information can be quantified in terms of its ‘information entropy’, in other words as a certain ‘freedom of choice’ – a probabilistic freedom, relative to the unpredictability of a message rich in entropy.

Despite the apparent simplicity of this idea, according to which a piece of information only informs us if it is not redundant, the notion of ‘information entropy’ has failed to impose itself outside information theory – which in turn concerns itself not with information in the larger sense of the word, but only with signal  transmission. The idea that prevailed instead was Norbert Wiener’s notion of ‘negentropy’, according to which information reflects the level of organisation of any system apt, on the contrary, to resist entropy. Via the influence of cybernetic theory this idea of ‘negentropy’ has disseminated itself across discourse in the natural and human sciences. Often without its mathematical formulation, it has contributed, as a metaphor, to polarise our epistemic field in its relation with the unpredictable and the improbable, by emphasising the negation of contingency.

Insofar as our systems of prediction have failed both spectacularly and catastrophically before a good number of the crises that have inaugurated the 21st century, by which I mean the media spectacles heralding a ‘post-truth’ era of politics, but also the catastrophic crises in finance, war and migration, it is now time to reevaluate the epistemological and ethical import of Shannon’s entropic idea of information, and to do so in light of the new protagonists, ‘noise’ and ‘crashe’.

Details

Séminaire

FMSH | 190 avenue de France | 75013 Paris

8 of March | 17h00-19h00

Free entry

Ajouter à mon agenda

 

Share
Seminar

08 mars 2017

Entre bruit et information: vers l’éthique d'une docte ignorance pour le 21e siècle

Séminaire mensuel de la chaire Ethique et finance

Cette séance du séminaire de recherche abordera la formation épistémique de la notion de "bruit" par opposition à "information"

Intervenant : Cécile Malaspina (Université Paris Diderot - Paris 7)

Nous héritons de Claude Shannon une bien curieuse idée de l’information: celle de ‘l’entropie de l’information’. Selon cette idée la quantité d’information serait définie par la ‘liberté du choix’, liberté probabiliste, sous-entendue dans l'imprévisibilité d’un message fort d’entropie. Malgré la simplicité apparente de cette idée, selon laquelle l’information ne nous informe réellement que si elle n’est pas redondante, elle n’a guère eu de succès au-delà de la théorie de l’information - théorie qui ne s’intéresse pas à l’information au sens large, mais uniquement à la transmission des signaux. À l’idée d’‘entropie de l’information’ on a préféré l’idée Wienerienne de ‘néguentropie’, selon laquelle, au contraire, l’information reflèterait le niveau d’organisation d’un système apte à résister à l’entropie.
Dans le sillage de la cybernétique cette idée de ‘néguentropie’ a investi les discours des sciences de la nature et de l’homme. Le plus souvent dénuée de son attelage mathématique elle a contribué, sous forme de métaphore, à polariser notre champ épistémique dans son rapport à l’imprévisible et l'improbable, en soulignant la négation de la contingence.
Dans la mesure ou un grand nombre des crises qui inaugurent le 21e siècle ont vu les systèmes de prédiction échoir de façon spectaculaire et catastrophique - entrainant le spectacle médiatique de la ‘post-vérité’ aussi bien que des catastrophes dans la finance, et en termes de guère et de migration, l’heure est venue de réévaluer l’apport épistémologique et éthique de l’idée entropique que se fait Shannon de l’information, et de le faire à la lumière des nouveaux protagonistes: le ‘bruit’ et le ‘Krach’.

Détails

Séminaire

FMSH | 190 avenue de France | 75013 Paris

8 mars | 17h00-19h00

Entrée libre

Ajouter à mon agenda

 

Partager
Séminaire