Ethics and Finance

Ethical issues are a topic of societal discussion that finance must now be a part of, particularly since the latest crises. The research chair's aim is to establish intellectual debate between professionals, researchers and the general public. Current work to examine the ethics of financial instruments covers the ethics of financial regulation and the study of institutional developments.

Main activities:

◆◆ Monthly seminar " Éthique et finance : les nouveaux enjeux" (Ethics and finance: new challenges), FMSH, Université Paris 1 Panthéon-Sorbonne, organised by C. Walter, E. Picavet and A. Cot.

◆◆ Second series of the monthly seminar " Régulation et risque" (Regulation and risk) with M. Frunza, P. Blanqué, P.-Ch. Pradier, L. Fontaine, A. Preda and P. Turmel, Th. Philipponat.

◆◆ Colloquium " La volatilité : un objectif de régulation financière ? " (Volatility: a goal of financial regulation?) organised by H. Rodarie and C. Walter, in partnership with SMA-BTP (19 November).

◆◆ International colloquium "Basic Rights, Relational Ethics and Financial Constraints", organised by P. Turmel and E. Picavet (26-27 November).

Publications:

◆◆ C. Walter, "Les deux quantifications de la théorie financière. Contribution à une histoire critique des modèles financiers" (Two quantifications of financial theory. Contribution to a critical history of financial models), FMSH-WP-2015-89, February 2015.

◆◆ C. Walter, "Jumps in Financial Modelling: Pitting the Black-Scholes Model Refinement Programme against the Mandelbrot Programme", FMSHWP- 2015-95, April 2015.

Partnership:

SMA-BTP

finethics.hypotheses.org

 

Brochure

The financial crises of the last few decades have exposed the significant impact of finance on the real economy and on society. Yet, despite spectacular media coverage of contemporary finance, a true understanding of its ethical and social dimensions has yet to be established. To achieve this, it is necessary to examine finance, this extraordinarily complex body of theories, models, technical tools, regulations, players and professional practices. Assessing this body, examining the supposed neutrality of financial models, studying the performativity of financial techniques, understanding the changes in the tools of practice, explaining the complex role of standards and regulations, are all prerequisites for the construction of a more 'just' finance. More 'just' in both senses of the word: fair and correct.

BUILDING A MORE 'JUST' FINANCE

To achieve this objective, the research chair applies a technical and multidisciplinary approach that combines a professional analysis of finance theories, models and instruments, and a significant contribution from the sciences associated with the study of standards and behaviours. It is an exceptional forum for intellectual and scientific debate for those seeking to gain a better understanding of the ethical and social dimension of contemporary finance.

2 major areas of research

Ethics of a socially responsible finance

The concept of social responsibility is now covered by Socially Responsible Investing (SRI) and Corporate Social Responsibility (CSR). The research chair seeks to extend this notion of social responsibility to finance companies.

Ethics of professional practices (professions, techniques, tools)

The financial crisis brought renewed attention to the way risk is handled in contemporary financial practices. The research chair proposes to study the way in which the requirements for ethical practices and instruments are taken into consideration in new international prudential regulations.  To understand such issues, the research chair is taking a unique approach that considers the latest work in the social sciences on the ethics and philosophy of standards and applies them to finance using actuarial science.

A SEMINAR AND COLLOQUIA OPEN TO ALL

The research chair's seminar brings together academics from various disciplines (history, mathematics, economics, sociology, philosophy) and professionals (industry, financial sector) for discussions and debates. The research chair also organises colloquia to develop new lines of research and to explore the bounds of finance in society ("Régulation, droits et garanties" (Regulation, rights and guarantees); "Basic rights, relational ethics and financial constraints"; "L’entrepreneur face à l’incertitude" (The entrepreneur in the face of uncertainty).

 

The research chair uses several working methods to develop and disseminate innovative research:

  • Invitations to international researchers for short periods (1 month)
  • Post-doctorate researcher posts (one to two years)
  • Organisation of a monthly seminar for academics and professionals
  • Organisation of major interdisciplinary colloquia
  • Creation of skills training workshops

Contribution to public debate on the involvement of finance in society

Scientific officer

Focus

http://www.fmsh.fr/

Chaire Éthique et finance

Plaquette de présentation
Téléchargez la nouvelle plaquette de présentation de la chaire !

Ethique et finance

Pour une finance responsable

Les questions éthiques font l’objet d’un dialogue sociétal auquel la finance ne peut désormais plus échapper, surtout depuis les dernières crises qui l’ont agitée. La chaire a pour objet d’instaurer un débat intellectuel entre professionnels, chercheurs et grand public. La réflexion engagée sur l’éthique des instruments financiers s’étend ainsi à l’éthique de la régulation financière et à l’analyse des évolutions institutionnelles.

Les crises financières survenues au cours des dernières décennies ont révélé l’impact considérable de la finance  sur l’économie réelle et sur la société. Or, en dépit d’une médiatisation très spectaculaire de la  finance contemporaine, une véritable compréhension de ses  dimensions éthique et sociétale reste à établir. Pour ce faire, il est nécessaire de rentrer dans la finance,  dans cet ensemble extraordinairement complexe de théories, de modèles, d’outils techniques, de réglementations,  d’acteurs et de pratiques professionnelles. Prendre la mesure de cet ensemble, questionner la neutralité supposée des modèles financiers, s’interroger sur la performativité des techniques financières, comprendre l’évolution de l’instrumentation des pratiques, expliquer le  rôle complexe des normes et des réglementations, autant de préalables sur la base desquels peut être envisagée la construction d’une finance plus « juste ». Plus « juste »,  dans la double étymologie du mot, à la fois justesse et justice.

Forte de cette ambition, la chaire déploie une approche à la fois technique et pluridisciplinaire, conjoignant une analyse professionnelle des théories, des modèles et  des instruments de la finance et l’apport considérable  des sciences relatives à l’étude des normes et des comportements. Elle offre un lieu exceptionnel de  croisement intellectuel et scientifique pour celles et ceux  qui veulent mieux appréhender la dimension éthique et sociétale de la finance contemporaine

2 grands axes de recherche

Ethique d’une finance socialement responsable

Le concept de responsabilité sociale se retrouve aujourd’hui dans l’investissement socialement responsable (ISR) et la responsabilité sociale des  entreprises (RSE). La chaire propose d’étendre  cette notion de responsabilité sociale aux entreprises  financières.

Ethique des pratiques professionnelles (métiers, techniques, outils)

La crise financière a posé avec une nouvelle acuité la  manière dont le risque était traité par les pratiques  financières contemporaines. La chaire propose d’étudier  la manière dont les exigences d’éthicité des pratiques  et des instruments sont prises en considération dans les  nouvelles réglementations prudentielles internationales.  Pour comprendre de tels enjeux, la chaire développe  une approche unique qui prend acte des travaux les  plus récents en sciences sociales sur l’éthique et en  philosophie des normes en les appliquant à la finance par le biais de l’actuariat.

Initiatives de recherche

Un séminaire et des colloques ouverts à tous

Séminaire de recherche | Éthique et finance : les nouveaux enjeux   
Organisé par C. Walter, E. Picavet et A. Cot, ce séminaire examine les questions éthiques en croisant les analyses élaborées par des universitaires de différentes disciplines et des professionnels, dans un double mouvement de dialogue et de confrontation.

Séminaire d'enseignement
Le séminaire d'enseignement de la chaire a pour objectif de donner aux étudiants la capacité à porter un regard critique sur les principaux modèles mathématiques utilisés dans la finance professionnelle aujourd’hui.

La chaire organise également des colloques pour ouvrir des pistes de recherche et explorer les frontières de l’implication de la finance dans la société (Régulation, droits et garanties ; Basic rights, relational ethics and financial constraints ; L’entrepreneur face à l’incertitude).

La chaire articule plusieurs modalités d’intervention pour développer et diffuser une recherche innovante :
 - Invitations de chercheurs internationaux sur des durées courtes (1 mois) ;
 - Accueil de post-doctorants (une à deux années) ;
 - Organisation de grands colloques interdisciplinaires
 - Mise en place d’ateliers de formation professionnelle ;
 - Interventions dans le débat public sur l’implication de la finance dans la société.

 

Regards croisés sur l'avenir de la finance
En partenariat avec le Centre des professions financières, des ateliers-petits déjeuners sont organisés pour examiner les nouveaux enjeux de l'avenir de la finance, dans un dialogue entre professionnels et universitaires. Dans chaque séance, un professionnel reconnu débat de son métier avec un universitaire. Il s’agit de cerner les circulations entre recherche et pratiques professionnelles, pour saisir les manières concrètes dont la technique fait norme.

Matinale philosophie et finance ILB/FMSH
Des ateliers-petits déjeuners sont organisés en partenariat avec l'Institut Louis Bachelier.

Publications

  • C. Walter, « Les deux quantifications de la théorie financière. Contribution à une histoire critique des modèles financiers », FMSH-WP-2015-89, février 2015 ;
  • C. Walter, « Jumps in Financial Modelling: Pitting the Black-Scholes Model Refinement Programme against the Mandelbrot Programme », FMSHWP- 2015-95, avril 2015.

Partenariats

Groupe SMA, partenaire industriel 
ISJPS, partenariat scientifique

    

Reponsables

Focus

http://www.fmsh.fr/

Chaire Éthique et finance

Plaquette de présentation
Téléchargez la nouvelle plaquette de présentation de la chaire !
http://www.fmsh.fr/fr/college-chaires/28064

Atelier "Regards croisés sur l’avenir de la finance"

Analyser le rapport aux machines, un enjeu éthique de la financ...
La chaire Ethique et finance organise régulièrement des ateliers-petits déjeuners pour examiner les nouveaux enjeux de l'avenir de la finance, dans un dialogue entre professionnels et universitaires. 
https://www.canal-u.tv/producteurs/fmsh/college_d_etudes_mondiales/chaire_ethique_et_finance

La chaire Éthique et Finance en vidéo

Voir ou revoir les événements organisés par la chaire Éthique et Finance.